Regular price: £14.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Terrifyingly authentic, London-set debut crime novel with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. The terrible abuse he suffered in childhood hasn’t stopped him enjoying family life with his wife and two daughters, or pursuing an impressive career with South London’s Murder Investigation Unit. But it has left him with an uncanny ability to identify the darkness in others – a darkness he recognises still exists deep within his own psyche and battles to keep buried there. Now Sean’s on the trail of the most dangerous killer he’s ever encountered. The perpetrator has no recognisable MO, leaves no forensic evidence and his victims have nothing in common. But Sean knows they were all murdered by the same man. Now all he has to do is find the evidence, convince his bosses and stop the killing … before his adversary gets too close to home…

©2013 Luke Delaney (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A grower

I was not sure I was going to enjoy this,it's a slow burner but worth it,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Daft plot, unbelievable behaviour

I really didn't like much about this book, having listened to the first chapter I nearly tossed the book as it was the meanderings of 'our killer' salivating about his kills.
I did stick it out and was drawn into the story.
As the story progressed I became unhappy with the characters, none at all likeable, and also with the behaviour of the police in planting evidence etc.

The plot was plain daft - we didn't really find out 'why', and the lead detective had an awareness of the criminal mind that was ridiculous, understanding things from a scene that just HAD to be assumptions.

Towards the end I did flip through several chapters as the drawn out saga was just too much to bear.

There was a lot of nasty descriptive violence which wasn't necessary.

This one is not for me at all, though I can see from the reviews that many people enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but nothing like Stuart MacBride

Any additional comments?

I often wonder if the people reviewing these books have ever read the books they compare them with. This is nothing like Stuart Macbride or Mark Billingham. An interesting plot, slightly contrived, but on the whole a good listen. I think the main character will develop in series, however if the next title moves to NZ, I trust audible will find a New Zealand narrator and not depend on someone trying the accents. I thought the character had landed in the outback of Australia, not in Queenstown New Zealand. A minor point perhaps. Overall an enjoyable book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • penny
  • READING, United Kingdom
  • 02-02-14

title is an excellent description for this book

What made the experience of listening to Cold Killing the most enjoyable?

Good narration. Never a full moment. Easy to visualise characters.

What did you like best about this story?

It's twists and turns.

Have you listened to any of Robin Bowerman’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No. But have just downloaded another book by same author and narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A good solid modern detective

I liked the character created in this with DI Corrigan. I also liked that other characters in the book were important too and had depth. It has a great twist in the story and the end leaves you thinking we could be hearing more from Corrigan (and maybe someone else). An enjoyable read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good but....

loved the book, its a little dragged out but a good story. would listen to the next one in the series.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nothing like Stuart McBride novels

Any additional comments?

I bought this book because it said in the publisher's review that it would appeal to readers of Stuart McBride. I feel like a total sucker! Dull, boring dialogue and thoroughly unlikable characters. Hated it

2 of 5 people found this review helpful