Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Woman. Wife. Smuggler. Spy....

Inspired by the astonishing real-life wartime story of Nancy Wake, the female spy known as the White Mouse, a thrilling and heart-wrenching novel by New York Times best-selling author Ariel Lawhon. Perfect for fans of My Name Is Eva by Suzanne Goldring, The Alice Network by Kate Quinn and Imogen Kealey's Liberation, soon to be a major blockbuster film about Nancy Wake. 

I have gone by many names. Some of them are real...but most are...lies.

In 1936 Nancy Wake is a foreign correspondent in Paris who witnesses firsthand the terror of Hitler's rise in Europe. When Nancy falls in love with handsome French industrialist and playboy Henri Fiocca, no sooner has she agreed to marry him than the Germans invade France and Nancy takes on her first code name.

As Lucienne Carlier, Nancy helps smuggle Allied soldiers across borders and earns a nickname from the Gestapo for her remarkable ability to evade capture: the White Mouse. Forced to leave France, Nancy is trained in espionage with an elite special forces group in London and gains a new code name, Hélène. Finally, airdropped back into France with a new mission, Nancy becomes the deadly Madame Andrée. But the closer France gets to liberation, the more exposed Nancy - and the people she loves - will become....

Inspired by true wartime events, Code Name Hélène is a gripping and heartbreakingly moving story of extraordinary courage, unfaltering resolve, remarkable sacrifice - and enduring love.

©2020 Ariel Lawhon (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Code Name Hélène

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

An Amazing Woman and gripping story

This book started off in a way that is very different to the many ww2 resistance books I've listened to. I wondered why Nancy had an Australian accent. Shame on me and my assumptions. It also seemed quite light. It wasnt. I feel like I have been taken inside the character of Nancy and humour and wit were part of her. She was brave, resilient, daring, resourceful and unashamedly herself. It is also a story of love and marriage, war and resistance. The characters are so well developed and portrayed by writer and narrators they become so precious and so human. I would like to say more about Henri, a very fine man, but I think I must let you listen yourself.

1 person found this helpful