Try an audiobook on us

Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans

Halfpenny Orphans, Book 3
Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)
Regular price: £12.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gritty and compelling drama from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street.

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father, and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her. Now he's finally abandoned them both, and they've found sanctuary at St Saviour's Children's Home in London's East End. It seems they're doomed to be separated; no one wants to take Sarah on, but life apart will break their hearts.

Alice, a former worker at the home who is now a mother and happily married to Bob, finds her happiness under threat when a face from the past reappears. Jack Shaw, East End bad boy, has always been Alice's weak spot, but is she really about to throw everything away?

Angela Morton has her hands full; she's now in sole charge. But with Christmas approaching and more than one orphan in desperate need, St Saviour's is crying out for a miracle....

©2016 Cathy Sharp (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Well read albeit a slow book

I found this book boring
I think the narrator did a good job considering the material
It felt like a history lesson for children

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story well told

the story comes alive when you are listening it's well writen and we'll read I was really happy with this book has plenty of interest believable characters

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Christmas at halfpenny

I really enjoyed this story it had lots of twist and turns in it , leaving you wanting to know more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant follow up

I read the orphan s of halfpenny street which I enjoyed. The characters from that book carried on into the second book. And the story carried on. Good book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Janet
  • Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
  • 21-10-16

TERRIBLE BORING NARRATION

Really trying to get past chapter 7 - the narration is far too condescending & samey.. its a real struggle.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful