Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £29.09

Buy Now for £29.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Starting an interstellar security consulting company was supposed to be easy.

Rade got his ex-military teammates together and they pooled their savings to buy a ship and six mechs. The Argonauts were born.

But it wasn't easy.

Ruthless bankers are breathing down their necks, vengeful warlords are promising to pursue them across the galaxy, and now a mysterious new client wants Rade and his Argonauts to escort her to a frontier planet.

Problem is, the new client won't reveal her cargo. It's probably something illegal. Well, Rade needs the money, so a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do.

They arrive to find the frontier colony strangely deserted. When the shit hits the fan and the Argonauts face a possible alien infestation, it's time to pull out the big guns. Because if there's one thing Rade and his Argonauts really love, it's a good bug hunt.

And this one looks to be the hunt of a lifetime.

For fans of Old Man's War, Guardians of the Galaxy, and Armor. From a USA Today best-selling author.

©2017 Isaac Hooke (P)2017 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about Bug Hunt

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mac Briggs Johnston
  • Mac Briggs Johnston
  • 16-09-17

Bug Hunters Snag Some Bugs!

* Warning spoilers incoming! *
All I can say is buy it: what a romp! Luke Daniels, the voice actor who reads Argonauts Book 1: Bug Hunt, is actually as good as Peter Berkrot (who performed Isaac Hooke’s ATLAS series on Audible). That is saying a lot. I couldn’t say which one is better at this point. I always find it amazing how they can switch voices, tonality, and really, personalities, at the drop of a pin. Luke Daniels got all the lines down right, from serious tones to jokes, and brings each character to life with a unique voice.
If you listen to audio books, don’t miss Isaac Hooke’s Argonauts Book 1: Bug Hunt performed by Luke Daniels… you’ll regret it if you miss it!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Phx17
  • Phx17
  • 17-04-21

Not the Firefly meets Aliens story I hoped for

From the title and summary, teasing a crew of former soldiers turned mercenaries encountering an abandoned planet and a bug menace, I was hoping for a pulpy sci-fi military action story. And when Luke Daniel’s narration made MC Rade sound a lot like Malcolm Reynolds, and the opening scene has Rade and crew rescuing a bunch of companions,er, I mean slave girls, from a yakuza sounding crime boss, I was sure I’d struck Firefly meets Aliens gold. Unfortunately, this story lacks the clever dialogue, balance between depth and snark, or action found in either series.

This story takes forever to get going, the bugs appear and disappear so quickly they might as well be cameos, and the stock characters are eye rollingly bad. The worst stock character is the black guy, who of course wears gold chains, cusses a lot, and exists to provide crusty solider humor... or maybe the only female on the team, who exists only to be the love interest of the MC and damsel in distress for a “meaningful” climax. There’s Fx and b!tches that to me seemed unnecessary and an awkward thirty second sex scene.

I did not realize the Rade character is from several other series, starting with ATLAS and including Mech. Perhaps that’s why the characters here seem flat. The other series also gave Rade PTSD, which makes for a lot of broody bits amid the sparse action.

Still, it was free, it played quick (especially at 1.5x), and all nine books in this series are currently free in Audible. I listened to book 2, and the diminishing returns made me decide to stop at 2… unless I’m desperate and number 3 is still available for free.

Similar stories, including many currently free in Audible:
🚀 If, like me, you wanted a pulpy sci-fi military bug hunt, try Harper’s 10 (delivering a better Aliens meets Pitch Black storyline), This prequel is free in Audible.
🚀 If plucky mercs getting in trouble is your thing, go with the actual Firefly series. The narrator amazingly sounds like all 9 of the crew... plus the books take place pre-Serenity, so all the gang can be enjoyed. Some of the Firefly books are currently free in Audible… and I recommend all of them except the Ghost Machine book. Shiny!)
🚀 If your jam is on the pulpier side, try Exo-Hunter by Jeremy Robinson, with pop culture fun, an alien rhino-Dino named Beatrice, and space Nazis!
🚀 If you want grittier, the post-apocalyptic Hell Divers delivers great man vs. mutant monsters vs. man adventures (books 3 & 5 in particular).
🚀 Did you like the humans vs. evil, intelligent aliens theme? Consider the War Wolves series starting with the free Audible teaser Escape First, Vengeance later staring the MC caught in a Sarah Connor asylum time loop.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert H Casko
  • Robert H Casko
  • 31-05-21

glad he got to it early.

The search for clean, well written scifi continues in futility...

...I am grateful Audible allows some titles that are the beginnings of series free...it allows me to sample and search....


I dream if a day when I can find good scifi that doesn't HAVE to resort to porn. Especially porn that doesnt advance or enrich the plot at all.

Today is not that day. Mr. Hooke is another in a long line of authors completely incapable of avoiding the peurile(if universal) trope of writing a scifi story with the shoehorned attempt at rewriting 2000 years of western civilization's sexual morality to allow promiscuous fornication, intentionally framed to inflame.

This particular book took about 10 sentences to get to "scantily clad slave girls."

I have started to appreciate the authors who get right to the stupid, idiotic "sexy-fun-time" early, so less of my time and money is waisted.

Maybe, someday, Audible will allow people to search for works that don't fall into the tired and sophomoric trap of titillation. They'd get alot more money out of me, and I wouldn't end up feeling bitter and tricked into buying books that end up wild dissappointments.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HS8541
  • HS8541
  • 06-05-21

The names and places have changed

if you just change the names and the places this is about 500 other science fiction stories. extremely predictable you pretty much see everything coming. The writing is decent dialogue is decent but it's just a clone

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AS
  • AS
  • 13-07-21

Almost seems like it was written with a checklist.

Went out of his way to be PC in the first few chapters. Was sure to note the race of nearly every person, those left out can be assumed to be white as they all hade European names.

As to his crew...
White guy- Assumed
Black guy - check
Hispanic - check
Native American - check
Female - check
That's all 5 of them

Only kill robots or bugs so as not to offend anyone - check
Poor writing - check

Don't waste your time, there are far too many better authors out there.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andria C.
  • Andria C.
  • 28-05-21

All of the harmful tropes

***May contain spoilers***

The way the only black character and the female character fulfilled every harmful stereotype was disgusting! I couldn't finish! How many times did he have to make a sexual reference, be obnoxious, cuss, use the p***y and b***h words when referring to everything and especially the female character? How many times did she conform to whatever her commander/boyfriend needed? The native American character is all wise and serves as 2nd command and the main character's pet. The Hispanic guy's depiction screams "Ese!" The author needs to do better.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sailfish
  • Sailfish
  • 16-12-17

Duke Nuckem Against The Bugs

If you like lots of raunch mixed in with a with a mediocre SciFi story then this book is just what you've been waiting for.

Otherwise, you'll probably rate it two stars.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Krisztina M Phillips
  • Krisztina M Phillips
  • 04-06-21

Racist Pablum

Relies on racist stereotypes. Better to pretend only white people exist in the future than to perpetuate a sexualized, muscled, gold chain wearing stereotype. The same goes for native Americans and Asians. Didn’t listen long enough to glean how Hispanics are portrayed. This book is racist pablum pretending to be Sci Fi .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brutis
  • Brutis
  • 14-03-21

Freebie Bad

It's a bad book but maybe it's supposed to be a YA novel and I wasn't the targeted qudience. Won't be looking for anything from the same writer. Luke Daniels is one of the best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeffrey
  • Jeffrey
  • 10-06-19

Couldn't Finish it.

if you're looking for a story that hasn't been thought out considerably with a lot of dick jokes and some powered armor, then you might like this... I've never given a bad review, and this isn't a "bad" book. However it's not a great book either, Sorry Isaac this one's not what I was looking for.

1 person found this helpful