Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From number one New York Times best-selling author Kathryn Purdie comes a high-stakes fantasy duology flush with doomed romance and macabre magic, perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi.

Bone Criers are the last descendants of an ancient famille charged with using the magic they draw from animal bones to shepherd the dead into the afterlife - lest they drain the light from the living.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become their matriarch, but first she must complete her rite of passage: to kill the boy she’s destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier, and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Now, his vengeance must wait, as Ailesse’s ritual has begun and their fates are entwined - in life and in death.

©2020 Kathryn Purdie (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Bone Crier's Moon

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott Olsen
  • Scott Olsen
  • 14-03-20

Creepy Man whisper...ewww!

The story was great overall, and I love Fiona Hardingham! However, the male narrator was TERRIBLE! He had a dreadful creepy whisper thing going on. It totally took away from the enjoyment of this book. Excuse me while I go wash out my ears...uggg!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aly P
  • Aly P
  • 04-03-20

Intriguing story and cool narration

The plot of this was so interesting and this read so quick! I love the idea of the Bone Crier's, aka Leuress, that ferry souls to basically paradise or damnation. The sisterly bond between these women and especially Sabine and Ailesse, was great. I love to see women supporting each other and portrayed as strong. The world building was kind of confusing, I did not understand the difference between chained and unchained souls until I read someone's review. There were a couple things like that, where they could have been explained better. I still don't really get why the Leuress have to kill their amoure, maybe in the next book there will be more information. Sabine and Ailesse were great characters. They each went through their own transformations and became stronger. I really enjoyed Sabine's connection to their goddess and her becoming her own person. I felt like Bastien wasn't fleshed out enough and even though we got his point of view, he felt like a side character. I loved the audiobook and definitely recommend it. I'm excited for the sequel after that cliffhanger!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Velina
  • Velina
  • 07-05-20

Amazing!

This book is packed with romance and action and has an original world with super interesting details. Can't wait for the sequel!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bentley
  • Bentley
  • 18-03-20

Star crossed lovers & Alex Wyndham :)

Loved this. The tension created by the central conceit seems cheesy to begin with but it actually plays out awesomely. Could have been a little clearer at times but I'm definitely down for more. Narration is solid and Alex Wyndham is as always awesome. Loved his narration of the Michael G. Manning books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for font lover
  • font lover
  • 29-08-20

Fresh new kind of magic

I loved this story. Learning more about the bone crier gives nice new type of magic. They way they acquire it. Wish author would give more explanation. The story line was great. I also wish author would have developed the romance relationships between main characters. I love love Fio a Hardingham narration and read many books because she is the narrator. I was new to Billie and Alex. Alex had a breathy voice and it did distract at times. Sounding to put out or serious instead of excited or strong. He sounds like he could have a nice English accent voice, buy work on one breathy tone. The only reason for 4 stars on performance. Also there were times the editing, was pieces in and I hadvtobre listen to understand what was happening. Overall the storyline was exciting and had a nice twist in the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🎧AudiobookFiend
  • 🎧AudiobookFiend
  • 12-08-20

Magical. Mythical. Marvelous.

Wow! I did not know what I was getting myself into. I bought this book purely for the gorgeous cover by Charlie Bowater, but boy was I delighted beyond measure by Purdie herself! ⚖️ Plot: This was I like anything I have ever read. I’ve always loved sirens but this premise was even more fascinating! I don’t think she could have packed more in if she tried, which sometimes made me have to listen again to catch the flow. The pace however was just right to absorb every twist and turn. 🗺 World: I’ve always been drawn to Greek mythology but this was its own system of magic too. My one gripe was that I would have like to know more about the spirit animals themselves. The way they communicated with the characters seems more like the authors hand rather than a believable relationship to me. 💑 Characters: As always, I’m a sucker for the underdog. Although Ailesse and Bastien are the main characters, my heart was drawn to Sabine and the mysterious dauphin. I also adored that ending! It was a test book perfect climax I’d recommend all authors to aspire to!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for emily logue
  • emily logue
  • 09-11-20

Horrible Narrator

I couldn’t get past the horrible male narrator; he has a distracting up-speak habit and weird whisper tone. He sounded very frantic, strange and way too old for his character. The premise seems interesting but I just couldn’t get past the narration.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meredith J.
  • Meredith J.
  • 26-10-20

Disappointing... and a little annoying

This is the first audio book that I couldn't finish. I got within 2 hours of the end, and I still couldn't do it. This is significant, because I've listened to my share of not-so-great audio books, and usually I just space out while doing dishes until the book is over. This book is not atrocious, just disappointing for readers expecting compelling characters. It's also a bit annoying for a few reasons. I'll admit I was initially drawn to this book by Charlie Bowater's beautiful cover art, but once I read the premise, I was intrigued. I guess I was expecting a rich fantasy romance. However, I was disappointed to discover extremely flat characters and a totally lame and unconvincing central romance. I have no clue why the main characters love each other. None at all. They meet in a tense way, as enemies, but then their feelings change for seemingly no reason whatsoever? Physical attraction, maybe? Blind acceptance of their "fated" love? I actually empathized the most with Ailesse's romantic rival Jules, who has a real connection with male lead Bastien. Perhaps this is unfair of me to say, but I see the author's Mormon upbringing a lot here. As with some characters in Stephenie Meyer's Twilight, the female love rival is positioned negatively seemingly only because she is forward with her feelings and more overtly sexual (although it's very tame here). I liked Sabine a bit better than Ailesse, because she at first seemed to have different solutions and a different perspective from the other Bone Criers. I thought that what the other Bone Criers called immaturity was actually going to be Sabine's superior power. In the end she "grows up" by just doing what the others do, so I guess I should've taken the immaturity part at face value. Speaking of which, I found the imagery of killing animals for their powers to be a bit much, which is why I was disappointed Sabine never really pursued another way of doing things. The world building is this book's strongest element, and it's a shame the author wasn't able to inhabit her rich world with rich characters. As for the narrators' performances, the actor portraying Bastien is maybe what really made me stop this book before the end. He delivers every line like he's in pain, and the world is about to end. It's almost insufferable, to the point that I feel my anxiety increase just listening to his strained delivery. Ailesse's narrator is almost as bad - her inflection makes the character sound even more arrogant than the words themselves do. Sabine's voice actor was the only bearable one. Simply put, this book is just just not worth spending time or money on. There are many, many better fantasy romances out there with equally compelling worlds and much stronger characters.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julia S.
  • Julia S.
  • 26-08-20

Creative ideas, boring execution

So overall the book was ok. I really like the concept of the book and appreciate the creativity. But it got very boring. I felt like the same things were happening but in different ways the entire book. It felt like it was missing something. Seems like there will be a sequel, I don't think I'll be listening to it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for desirae
  • desirae
  • 28-07-20

loved it from the start

I have a hard time liking a new book usually, but with this one I really enjoyed it from start to finish!