Listen free for 30 days

Bleak Alley

Stories from the Margins
Narrated by: Shane Dunphy
Length: 5 hrs and 58 mins
Categories: Non-fiction, True Crime
4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Meet the author

Shane Dunphy is a child protection expert, author, journalist, musician and teacher. A professional child protection worker for fifteen years (he still practises as a consultant), he is best known for a series of books detailing cases he was involved with, both as a social care worker and journalist. Shane’s nine non-fiction titles, all in the genre of true crime/inspirational memoir have been bestsellers both in Ireland and the UK, and his series of crime novels have garnered critical acclaim as well as achieving bestseller status in Ireland. Shane also has a successful television and radio career both nationally and internationally. He lives in the South East of Ireland with his wife Deirdre Wickham and their two children.

Summary

True crime within the dark heart of Irish gangs. Featuring original Irish folksongs written and performed by the author, Shane Dunphy.

He seems like a typical 16-year-old boy except that Mikey is walking the knife edge of crime. He’s tough and good with his fists, but when journalist Shane Dunphy is offered the chance to write his story, he discovers a lost, vulnerable child, in danger and desperate for help.

Shane descends into the perilous underworld of organised crime and discovers that the glamour of gangland life is riven with brutality and murder. Far from providing a means of survival for boys from broken families, the price they pay is often with their life.

With skill and empathy, and no little courage, Shane attempts to rescue Mikey from the clutches of warring gangland leaders and to restore the love and harmony of Mikey’s family which has been shattered by poverty and bad blood.

For fans of Peaky Blinders, Bleak Alley is the first in a series of true crime stories from the heart of Irish gangland life. The author provides extensive historical analysis of the rise of Irish street gangs and their outlaw Celtic culture, as well as original Irish folksongs.

Bleak Alley examines serious issues of social deprivation, state indifference and lawlessness with the pace and intrigue of a high-class thriller.

©2019 Shane Dunphy (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read!

Shane, this book was superb! You did an amazing job of helping Mikey! I really enjoyed the story and the flow of it was great. I highly recommend this book, shane is a warm, caring, compassionate journalist and anyone who reads his work wont be disappointed, the fact he reads his own book makes it all the more special! Thanks shane for an amazing and well written book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Absolutely brilliant. Enjoyed this book amazingly. Highly recomend even if just for the knowledge you will gain

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good narrator needed.. Shane is a great writer but

I love Shane's books to read.
but his talents do not stretch to narrator

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

exceptional as always

brillant from start to end. I liked how it drew parallels in the changing of chapters/stories.