Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent

Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.    

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence.  

But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.   

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious.  

What does he have to hide?

In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

©2017 Sarah Maine (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"Beautifully told and quietly absorbing." (Kate Riordan) 

"Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness." (The Times)

What listeners say about Beyond the Wild River

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not as enjoyable as her other books

I have loved the history/modern day aspect of some of the authors other books butthis one ionlygot an hour into. I found I just didn't care what happened to the characters it was so dull

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Book murdered by narration...

I looked forward to listening to this book, particularly in view of the good reviews and I now assume that these relate to the paper version. The narrator has a beautiful reading voice and pitch that I could listen to all day. However, her attempts at an American accent were cringing and spoilt this audiobook for me. It was so bad that I unfortunately couldn't get past it. Given her struggles with the accent, her reading was also somewhat stilted, with strange pauses and volume variations, that resulted in the book feeling a bit disjointed.
Lastly, I have listened to other books narrated by Carolyn Bonnyman, which I found delightful.