Listen free for 30 days

Beyond Reasonable Doubt

By: Gary Bell
Narrated by: Hugh Kermode
Series: Elliot Rook, QC, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed QC. 

Elliot Rook QC is one of the greatest barristers of his generation. 

He is also a complete fraud. 

Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now....

An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook’s home town. Billy Barber - a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist - is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. 

The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

©2019 Gary Bell (P)2019 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Really enjoyed it
Great story and plot unfolds in interesting way
Well narrated
Hope more by these writers

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! Hope it’s going to be a series

I loved this book, great legal thriller but with a twist. The characters were really great with a few chuckles along the way. I must also say that the narrator really added to the story.
Please tell me this is going to be a new series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

I generally enjoy books with court scenes and the ones in this books are excellent: pacy and credible. The latter not surprising as it's written by a barrister. It's an intriguing story that only waned a bit in the final chapters which relied on the main character behaving stupidly and putting himself in jeopardy: what a cliche that has become for crime novels. The narrator is excellent and despite my criticism of the ending I'll be looking out for further books by the author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Satisfying legal thriller

An excellent thriller and I liked to inside information about the legal system. Having done my degree in Nottingham and having lived in places mentioned it felt very real.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

This is a vey enjoyable listen.. clever, complex and funny. The authors have a dry sense of humour, not to mention great knowledge of the British legal system! Very Interesting bits of legal history are also sprinkled throughout the story. The developing relationship between the “silk” and the “junior “ is being established slowly and steadily, which lends the characters even more credibility I think and a joy to listen to. A definite must for lovers of British thrillers.

3 people found this helpful