Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Munich 1930: smoke filled the air. 

Lilli Sternberg’s quickening heart sounded an alarm as she rounded the street corner. Lifting her gaze to the rooftops, a roaring blaze of thick flames engulfed the side of the building and joined the stars to fill the black sky. Her father’s shop was no more. 

Lilli Sternberg longs to be a ballet dancer. But outside the sanctuary of the theatre, her beloved city is in chaos, and Munich is no longer a place for dreams.

The Nazi party are gaining power, and the threats to those who deviate from the party line are increasing. Jewish families are being targeted and their businesses raided; even her father’s shop was torched because of their faith.

When Lilli meets Captain Marco Zeiller during a chance encounter, her heart soars. He is the perfect gentleman, and her love for him feels like a bright hope under a bleak sky.

But battle lines are being drawn, and Marco has been spotted by the Reich as an officer with potential. A relationship with Lilli would compromise them both.

Will Lilli escape the threats facing her family, and how much is she willing to risk for the man she loves? 

An absolutely gripping and emotional historical fiction novel about love, courage and betrayal for fans of My Name Is Eva and A Woman of War.

©2021 Tessa Harris (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Beneath a Starless Sky

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A great read Well narrated

I thought this story was going to be cheesy but as the story developed it was really good It had so many different storyline running through so it stayed interesting I didn't quite believe the SS soilder being a british agent he could have been a renege officer attached to like-minded germans The ending was sad but it did finish the story well

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 14-02-21

One of the best I have ever listened

Wow. What a find. I just happened upon this book. Author not known to me but I will seek out more books by her when I finish this review. My favorite genre is ww1 or ww2 historical fiction. The story was so interesting and so filled with real people. . I especially have a dislike for Wallis Simpson and the abdicated duke. This is a must read/listen to for any lover of historical fiction and reality of the Jews was so horrible and cruel , I almost cried at the bittersweet end Thank you Tessa Harris

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M B Yorton
  • M B Yorton
  • 19-02-21

Excellent WWII spy-romance novel

Nice to see a smart, cunning, strong-spirited, extremely bright (tho completely fictional), Jewish dancer-cum-spy heroine in a 1930's - 1940's, historically accurate, spy novel (for the men); Or, er, romance novel, for the ladies; which takes place primarily in Nazi Germany. Ms Harris manages to introduce us to the Windsors (Wallis & ex-King Duke "David"), Goebbels, Eva Braun, the Nazi propaganda movie Titanic, and other historical figures and events. As well as the plight of all Jews in pre-war and wartime Germany, and the slow descent into Hitler's identity politics and the destruction of democracy. All in one tale! 4-1/2 🌟