Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Beneath a Scarlet Sky

  • A Novel
  • By: Mark Sullivan
  • Narrated by: Will Damron
  • Length: 17 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (1,911 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Beneath a Scarlet Sky cover art

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

By: Mark Sullivan
Narrated by: Will Damron
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £23.99

Buy Now for £23.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Last Rose of Shanghai cover art
The Last Green Valley cover art
The Girl Who Escaped cover art
The Rabbit Girls cover art
Nocturne cover art
Once We Were Brothers cover art
CodeName Snake: The Evil We Kill cover art
The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell cover art
Prisoner B-3087 cover art
In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
Playing with Matches cover art
The Eleventh Arrow cover art
The Kite Runner cover art
A Bitter Rain cover art
A Thousand Splendid Suns cover art

Summary

Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager - obsessed with music, food, and girls - but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier - a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

©2017 Mark Sullivan (P)2017 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved

What listeners say about Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,494
  • 4 Stars
    288
  • 3 Stars
    86
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    20
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,257
  • 4 Stars
    318
  • 3 Stars
    88
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    21
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,400
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding best read ever

I did not want this to end. So enjoyed every minute. narrated wonderfully. one of the best.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

One of the best and most compelling stories I have come across and based on the experience of a remarkable Italian who lived through the 2nd word war in Italy

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A vivid recounting of a time in history.

A truly visceral and evocative account that kept me returning for more.

The captivating, sad and joyous moments in individuals lives play out through the backdrop of history.

For each character the actions, deeds and motives are all laid bare, leaving the reader pausing to reflect on life in all its forms.

In the midst of unspeakable horrors lie heroism, greed, self interest, altruism and even love.

A story well worth the read/listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable.

Great narrator, really enjoyed listening to this book on my morning walks during lock down!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best story on the subject I have ever heard.

I have heard and read many books on the suject of the second World War and in particular what happend to the Jewish people, but I have never heard it from an Italian perspective.
This story, on a true life, was the best I have ever heard. It was so well presented from the start when the main character was described, enjoying his carefree teenage life and having little care for what was to come upon his country.
As he was faced with the horrors of war and death I felt we were taken with him through that cruel awaking to life's realities in all their harshness and saw the development of a man and a hero.
It was written beautifully with great descriptions of both wonder and horror, love and hatred, that clearly conveyed the complexity of the human struggle in a conflicted situation.
It was thrilling and tense, exciting and at times funny, poignant and movingly passionate and of course in places very sad.
Thank-you Mark Sullivan for writing such a masterpiece and to Will Damron for bringing it alive.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good.

I didn't study history. I enjoyed the book and think I learnt a lot. I can definitely recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I can't recommend this book enough. What's not to like ... gripping, heart breaking and loving.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just incredible

A truly epic story set in the forgotten world of WW2. Eye-opening to the horrors the Italians suffered during Nazi occupation and the devastation and division they left behind. What a life this man had. A hero who's story should be heard by everybody and is narrated excellently in this ode to hope in a time of great hardship.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting and very enlightening

Set in Northern Italy - Milan and the Alps in WW2. Riveting historical novel. Wonderful characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful and moving

What a story, what a man. A very touching thriller of a story that high lights events and history is a page turner. Well narrated too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!