Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Some legends can kill you. 

When a young woman is brutally murdered in the Norfolk countryside, the locals blame Black Shuck - a legendary wild dog. 

There’s only one problem: The wounds weren’t made by an animal. 

DCI Robert Kett is battling a black dog of his own. With his wife still missing, and the injuries from his last case leaving him in constant pain, everything seems impossible - not least looking after his three young children. 

But when a second body appears, even bloodier than the last, Kett finds himself on a hunt for one of the most ruthless serial killers the country has ever seen. 

A killer who may be hunting him, too. 

Full of death and dark humour, you won't be able to put down this fast-paced British crime thriller from million-selling author Alex Smith. Perfect for fans of JD Kirk, LJ Ross, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin. 

Binge the series now:
PAPER GIRLS
BAD DOG
THREE LITTLE PIGS
WHIP CRACK
RUN RABBIT RUN
STONE COLD DEAD (coming soon) 

Alex Smith wrote his first book when he was six. It wasn’t particularly good, but it did have some supernatural monsters in it. His DCI Robert Kett thrillers have monsters in too, although these monsters are very human, and all the more terrifying for it. In between, he has published 12 novels for children and teenagers under his full name, Alexander Gordon Smith - including the award-winning Escape from Furnace series, which is loved by millions of readers worldwide and which is soon to become a motion picture. He lives in Norwich with his wife and three young daughters.

©2020 Alex Smith (P)2021 Alexander Gordon Smith

More from the same

What listeners say about Bad Dog

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

good story but quite gruesome in parts and it continued with the missing Billy from the first book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly entertaining

This is every bit as good as Paper Girls, different, yes, but just as good, it is a strange ride however and reminded me a little of Mo Hayder as I was listening, no spoilers here, just a recomendation to listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miranda Maurer
  • Miranda Maurer
  • 14-04-21

Enjoyable and Entertaining

JD Kirk recommended the author and I jumped to listen. I enjoyed his first book, Paper Girls and this was just as pleasing. Reading comments online on how the villains are a bit of a fantastic stretch left me wondering how it would turn out but this book left me feeling like under the right/wrong circumstances it could happen. The book isn't overly cerebral but is quite enjoyable. For someone doing a 4-hour round trip 1x weekly, this was a great book to sink my ears into. The reading was well done and overall, very satisfying. I look forward to future audible releases of the series and to see how the characters develop. I already have hopes for Savage, I have concerns about his eldest daughter emotional/mental health/technology usage and seriously think the DCI will spend 3/4 of his time healing from injuries more than working at the rate he's going. Thank you and...next, please!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 23-03-21

1

not a bad book BUT between the mountains of fece, the loss of focus
on crime and the obsesseion with
state of the art Yuckness..... save your credits.