Listen free for 30 days

Authority

Narrated by: Ray Porter
Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
4 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The aliens came. We won, but billions died. Now, it's time to rebuild.  

The neons do as they're told. Chemically bound to their masters by the experimental chemi-chip implant created from alien technology, they are genetically engineered at rapid rates to be servants for the survivors of the war against alien invaders. Without neons, reconstruction would be impossible. 

Colin Hanston - the unremarkable son of the genius who invented the chemi-chip - leads a simple life as a farmer, helping feed his district as any good citizen should. But when he redeems his voucher for a neon servant of his own named Michael, everything changes. His father’s old friend-turned-rebel shows up, and Colin learns that not everyone believes the neons are a simple commodity used by the Authority to fix the world and help prepare in case the aliens return. 

Knowing he could be killed just for talking to the rebels, Colin will have to decide for himself whether his father’s work is truly a benefit to humanity as his leaders claim, or a perversion. 

Is the truth worth destroying his father’s legacy and putting his family in danger? Is it worth dying for? 

Don't miss this dystopian sci-fi thriller, perfect for fans of Hugh Howey, Jasper T Scott, and Paul Antony Jones. 

©2019 Anthony Meek (P)2019 Aethon Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dan Raskoll
  • POST-APOCALYPTIC Cotswold's,England
  • 10-11-19

Authority review

Just buy it, it's a fantastic audiobook, everything works in this book just loved it straight away, it really has a great story that keeps you gripped from beginning to end,5 out 5 book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

after listening to this book I hope there are more

when I started this book I was not to sure about it. I'm so glad I stuck with it, by the end I became so caught up in the story that I now want this to be the first of many

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

impossible to predict

I recieved a review copy or this book. It presents the concept of the reintroduction of slavery, through modern genetics, against the backdrop of a devastated and rebuilding society. The story is excellent and well narrated, taking several twists that I did not see coming.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kian
  • England
  • 31-10-19

Ray porter

Ray porter did an excellent job but the book wasn't to my taste. slow pace simple storyline, weak protagonist.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GeeGeeLaBee
  • GeeGeeLaBee
  • 29-10-19

Don't question Authority

Didn't know what to expect though I'm pleasantly surprised. Taking place in the near future, the tech was something I could actually buy into with all the talk of robots and androids in the news. These neons could be appealing to some—terrifying to others. This is probably one of my favorite books this year.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graves County, ky Dr Pepper
  • Graves County, ky Dr Pepper
  • 06-11-19

Good story!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."
This story raises some actually interesting ethical questions, I don’t know that was the intent but it sure made me think of-what if?
Good story, excellent narration. I think there could be spin offs done quite easily and readily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Draeb
  • Draeb
  • 06-11-19

great story line

I really liked the way the story twists. without spoiling it... some things I didn't see coming. it will be interesting to see how second book will play out

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Stringham
  • John Stringham
  • 05-11-19

Really Great SciFi

I really enjoyed this story. It was very unique especially for a scifi. It had clear messages and the writing was very meaningful. Multiple story lines that are all meaningful and bring life to this dystopian future. I highly recommend this book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 29-10-19

Ray is back!

Yes yes yes. Ray Porter brings this thing to life like only he can. Meek has the chops too.

Colin Hanston has to choose between what’s right and what might end everything.

The neons are such a cool concept and worth exploring in an entire universe.

Bravo!!!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel
  • Daniel
  • 07-11-19

A dystopian world that keeps you hooked

I really enjoyed Authority. It kept me interested to finish much faster than I do many books. It reminded me of Brave New world. The book follows two time periods, the alien invasion and aftermath, and the future dystopian society. What I really liked is it went through a progression showing how good intentions can be subverted. Authority is a great book that challenges the reader and I highly recommend it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 06-11-19

Authority by A. K. Meek

The story holds your interest from beginning to end. I enjoyed the twists and lead changes. I would have liked to have seen more character development in the past scenes but not necessarily for the storyline. I would enjoy more books in the universe of grown slaves. I would recommend this book to read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BT
  • BT
  • 04-11-19

Ray Porter is amazing, book is OK.

I was given a free review copy of this audio book, at my request, and am voluntarily leaving this unbiased review.

In the near future, aliens lay waste to Earth's major cities before being destroyed. To rebuild, humanity uses slave humans, who have their humanity removed.

The first half of this book take place in parallel timeliness. The primary following the "abolishionists" (excuse the spelling) and the fight to free the "neons" (slaves). The secondary timeline takes place roughly 30 years previous, and the alien attacks and setting up the systems that are in place in the primary timeline.

This happens until about halfway through the book, where the secondary timeline runs its course and the rest of the book is set in the primary timeline. This brings me to my furjst annoyance, where as the first half of the book has chapters starting with a date, the second half starts with "present". Either the date should have been kept all the way through the book or the first half should have been half "present" and half date.

The story is, in itself, nothing all that new. The specifics and technology are new, but the plot of slaves fighting back against slavery, and slavery being wrong are well worn. This book has nothing really new to say regarding this, or any new insight.

The characters are varied and each feels like their own individual person, rather than just "good guy number 3" or something. However, due to events in the plot, the characters change from time to time and the focus shifts from one character to another. So this feels like less of 1 characters journey and more of an event. This isn't a problem per se, but the writing style is written more like the former rather than the latter. I'm not sure if this was done for shock value, or if the author let the story unfold as it progressed and things went down a path he didn't anticipate.

The issue with this is that characters enter and exit the story, and they fail to leave an emotional impact. Because there are so many characters, and they are all relatively well created, saying good bye should be a hardship. But because the story is written like 1 characters journey, and it's never clear who that character is, and because so many characters are comming and going, departures are failed to grip me, and make me sad they are happening.

Having said that, the characters are well fleshed out and multidimensional. They have unique back stories, motivations and character flaws. The world is described in detail, and with the back story, it's easy to understand the setting and laws. The gut wrenching execution at the beginning was a unnecessary evil, in my opinion, though.

The voice acting by Ray Porter, was top notch, as always. He has a great range of voices and a genuine way of speaking that makes the things he reads feel, well, believable. However, I disagree with his pronunciation of "dirigible".

All in all a pretty OK read. There is nothing wrong with it, but it offers very little of anything new to set it apart. I definitely wasn't upset that I listened to it, but it also didn't wow me in any way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqueline Hicks
  • Jacqueline Hicks
  • 03-11-19

Extremely entertaining, thought provoking, epic

I may have found a new favorite author. I went into listening to this story thinking it was going to be very cliche but by the third chapter I was hooked. This story perfectly blended humor, sadness, brutality, and action. Ray Porter, as usual, did a great job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl Haynes
  • Carl Haynes
  • 03-11-19

Great book well worth the listen

Great narration as always by ray porter
Interesting world
Compelling characters
Unpredictable story while still being engaging

3 of 4 people found this review helpful