Listen free for 30 days

Asking for It

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
4.5 out of 5 stars (200 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night....

Now she's an embarrassment. Now she's just a slut. Now she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. The award-winning, best-selling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015

©2015 Louise O'Neill (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An emotional, heart wrenching story

A beautifully complex story that gets to the heart of many issues facing society today.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scalpel to Irish culture

You'll never think about home the same way again. It's an uncomfortable read at times but very on the bone

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rocked to the core

This is a very important for all members of society. Let it challenge your beliefs and understanding of consent. Let your children and young relatives in on the book content and lessons it provides

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

Very hard book, emotionally draining, but it should be read in schools. Captures trauma in a way I didn’t think was possible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every 16 year old girl should read this!

This is a powerful insight into how having a few to many drinks can lead to your life and your family’s life can be turned upside down! I am 60 and would say but for the grace of god go I !!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Compelling!

I wasn't sure I would continue with this after the 6th chapter or so. However, a little further on and it became very interesting. The protagonist is not a likeable character. Nevertheless, it was easy to empathise with her. The story is an excellent analysis of the emotional and interactional fall-out of the awful event. It is dark in many ways. Despite this, in the later chapters, I literally could not put it down. The story itself loses one star for me because the ending felt inadequate. I don't mind a book ending without all of the threads tied-up, but this cried out for another couple of chapters. Aoife McMahon is always an excellent narrator, but she excelled herself here. Truly exceptional narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could have listened to 10 more chapters

Slow to start but such an incredible read/listen, the way Louise writes to make you feel deeply for this character is incredible, a book every young woman needs to read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

superb insight

superb insight into the dark, gossip ridden, emotionally manipulating imprisonment of the modern Irish mindset

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Harrowing

It's a heavy listen. Read brilliantly but a very horrible sad subject. Not a feel good book. But maybe someone may get some solace in it

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An interesting idea, fair writing, poor narrative.

a difficult book to listen to and an abrupt and disappointing ending. on my first listen I had to stop because it was depressing. I've listened to it again and when I got as far as I had originally I was ready to hear the end two chapters later I find out there is none. not a great story but I don't think that was the intent. a distinctly unlikeable protagonist with an unfulfilled character arc. I understand why the character was written this way but with no redeeming characteristics she comes across as more of a stereotype than a person which makes the first person narrative tough to listen to. The voices can be rather harsh to listen too as well in parts.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Filip
  • Filip
  • 18-10-19

Emotional wonderfulness

When I heard about this book, I knew I want to listen to it. And it was a really great decision.

I got emotional many times (I almost cried at times).

I would describe it as a painful picture of the reality.