Try an audiobook on us

Asking for It

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (140 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night....

Now she's an embarrassment. Now she's just a slut. Now she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. The award-winning, best-selling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015

©2015 Louise O'Neill (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An emotional, heart wrenching story

A beautifully complex story that gets to the heart of many issues facing society today.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scalpel to Irish culture

You'll never think about home the same way again. It's an uncomfortable read at times but very on the bone

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

Very hard book, emotionally draining, but it should be read in schools. Captures trauma in a way I didn’t think was possible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every 16 year old girl should read this!

This is a powerful insight into how having a few to many drinks can lead to your life and your family’s life can be turned upside down! I am 60 and would say but for the grace of god go I !!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Compelling!

I wasn't sure I would continue with this after the 6th chapter or so. However, a little further on and it became very interesting. The protagonist is not a likeable character. Nevertheless, it was easy to empathise with her. The story is an excellent analysis of the emotional and interactional fall-out of the awful event. It is dark in many ways. Despite this, in the later chapters, I literally could not put it down. The story itself loses one star for me because the ending felt inadequate. I don't mind a book ending without all of the threads tied-up, but this cried out for another couple of chapters. Aoife McMahon is always an excellent narrator, but she excelled herself here. Truly exceptional narration.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could have listened to 10 more chapters

Slow to start but such an incredible read/listen, the way Louise writes to make you feel deeply for this character is incredible, a book every young woman needs to read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

superb insight

superb insight into the dark, gossip ridden, emotionally manipulating imprisonment of the modern Irish mindset

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

shallow story line

really banal story with virtually no insight in the characters. this makes it impossible for the reader to care for them and the whole experience has a very bland taste to it. avoid.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful and much needed story

Incredible story about consent by Louise. Narration is okay, but doesn't suit the main character.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

an interesting read!

very good story, it was cleverly written but the ending was disappointing! loved the narrator.