Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night....

Now she's an embarrassment. Now she's just a slut. Now she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. The award-winning, best-selling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015

©2015 Louise O'Neill (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What listeners say about Asking for It

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An emotional, heart wrenching story

A beautifully complex story that gets to the heart of many issues facing society today.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scalpel to Irish culture

You'll never think about home the same way again. It's an uncomfortable read at times but very on the bone

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every 16 year old girl should read this!

This is a powerful insight into how having a few to many drinks can lead to your life and your family’s life can be turned upside down! I am 60 and would say but for the grace of god go I !!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rocked to the core

This is a very important for all members of society. Let it challenge your beliefs and understanding of consent. Let your children and young relatives in on the book content and lessons it provides

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

Very hard book, emotionally draining, but it should be read in schools. Captures trauma in a way I didn’t think was possible.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

superb insight

superb insight into the dark, gossip ridden, emotionally manipulating imprisonment of the modern Irish mindset

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Compelling!

I wasn't sure I would continue with this after the 6th chapter or so. However, a little further on and it became very interesting. The protagonist is not a likeable character. Nevertheless, it was easy to empathise with her. The story is an excellent analysis of the emotional and interactional fall-out of the awful event. It is dark in many ways. Despite this, in the later chapters, I literally could not put it down. The story itself loses one star for me because the ending felt inadequate. I don't mind a book ending without all of the threads tied-up, but this cried out for another couple of chapters. Aoife McMahon is always an excellent narrator, but she excelled herself here. Truly exceptional narration.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could have listened to 10 more chapters

Slow to start but such an incredible read/listen, the way Louise writes to make you feel deeply for this character is incredible, a book every young woman needs to read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ended too soon!

Believable but disappointing end. I feel upset that justice wasn't served and guilt of the wrong kind prospered

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

hard hitting story line

very relevant storyline, thought it ended a.bit abruptly though. don't think the narrator was the right one for this.book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Filip
  • Filip
  • 18-10-19

Emotional wonderfulness

When I heard about this book, I knew I want to listen to it. And it was a really great decision.

I got emotional many times (I almost cried at times).

I would describe it as a painful picture of the reality.