Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night....

Now she's an embarrassment. Now she's just a slut. Now she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. The award-winning, best-selling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015

©2015 Louise O'Neill (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An emotional, heart wrenching story

A beautifully complex story that gets to the heart of many issues facing society today.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scalpel to Irish culture

You'll never think about home the same way again. It's an uncomfortable read at times but very on the bone

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could have listened to 10 more chapters

Slow to start but such an incredible read/listen, the way Louise writes to make you feel deeply for this character is incredible, a book every young woman needs to read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

superb insight

superb insight into the dark, gossip ridden, emotionally manipulating imprisonment of the modern Irish mindset

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • Newcastle, England
  • 02-07-17

Compelling!

I wasn't sure I would continue with this after the 6th chapter or so. However, a little further on and it became very interesting. The protagonist is not a likeable character. Nevertheless, it was easy to empathise with her. The story is an excellent analysis of the emotional and interactional fall-out of the awful event. It is dark in many ways. Despite this, in the later chapters, I literally could not put it down. The story itself loses one star for me because the ending felt inadequate. I don't mind a book ending without all of the threads tied-up, but this cried out for another couple of chapters. Aoife McMahon is always an excellent narrator, but she excelled herself here. Truly exceptional narration.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

Very hard book, emotionally draining, but it should be read in schools. Captures trauma in a way I didn’t think was possible.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every 16 year old girl should read this!

This is a powerful insight into how having a few to many drinks can lead to your life and your family’s life can be turned upside down! I am 60 and would say but for the grace of god go I !!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

an interesting read!

very good story, it was cleverly written but the ending was disappointing! loved the narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AOLK
  • Dublin, Ireland
  • 30-07-18

Wow

I loved this which is a difficult phrase to use for such a disturbing subject. It was brilliantly written the character of Emma was real, and the narrator was superb. It was like listening to a play.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Was she.......

Wow! Such a grim story but, unfortunately, so very close to the bone. Powerful messages.