Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Includes an audiobook-exclusive interview with the author discussing his inspiration for Ashes and his family’s history during World War II. 

A deeply touching novel about two young women whose differences, which once united them, will tear them apart forever, during Hitler’s Nazi occupation of Belgium and France. Based on true events.

For fans of All The Light We Cannot See and Tattooist of Auschwitz

Belgium, July 1939: Simone Lyon is the daughter of a Belgium national hero, the famous General Joseph Lyon. Her best friend, Hava Daniels, is the eldest daughter of a devout Jewish family. Despite growing up in different worlds, they are inseparable.

But when, in the spring of 1940, Nazi planes and tanks begin bombing Brussels, their resilience and strength are tested. Hava and Simone find themselves caught in the advancing onslaught and are forced to flee.

In an emotionally charged race for survival, even the most harrowing horrors cannot break their bonds of love and friendship. The two teenage girls will see their innocence fall against the ugly backdrop of a war dictating that theirs was a friendship that should never have been.

©2020 Chris de Vinck (P)2020 Harper Inspire

What listeners say about Ashes

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 22-08-20

The good and bad of this novel in MY opinion

The bad. I wish the book had been listed as appropriate for teens and very young audiences. I almost exchanged this book so many times because of the super silly prattle between the two main characters. Ok. They were just 17 or 18. Then let me know it was for teens not adults. The good- I really liked the two main characters and I am a ww2 fan and didn’t know much of Belgium history in ww2. It was quite a good story if you get away from the foolishness. I appreciate that there was no profanity or gratuitous sex scenes. I would like to read more from this author