Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Amy Perry's Assumptions cover art

Amy Perry's Assumptions

By: Laura Starkey
Narrated by: Sarah Whitehouse
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Rachel Ryan's Resolutions cover art
The Matchmaker cover art
Holiday Romance cover art
Long Time No Sea cover art
Fake It Or Leave It cover art
All My Love cover art
Always on My Mind cover art
We Are Family cover art
Better Off Wed cover art
The Accidental Honeymoon cover art
Just Say Yes cover art
You've Got This cover art
An (Un)Romantic Comedy cover art
The Second Time We Met cover art
Cupcakes for Christmas cover art
When We Meet Again cover art

Summary

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE SPARE ROOM

ASSUMPTION 1: Every woman dreams of an epically grand, romantic proposal.
Amy Perry doesn't believe in fairy-tale romances. Smart, savvy and a little bit cynical, she's much happier keeping things casual. She thought her good-looking, wealthy boyfriend felt the same way. But here she is, 1,000 feet up in the air, watching him get down on one knee....

ASSUMPTION 2: Sexy lords only exist in Bridgerton.
As if things couldn't get worse, after a messy break-up Amy is forced to relocate to her hometown to take up a new job opportunity - and runs into the last person she ever wanted to see again. Sam Ainsworth. Son of the local lord. The bane of her existence. Her first love.

ASSUMPTION 3: Always trust your head, not your heart.
Everything Amy believed about Sam turned out to be right when he broke her heart all those years ago. She's not looking to revisit the past. But everywhere she turns, Sam's there - with his irresistible molten brown eyes, wry smile and easy charm. Soon, Amy finds herself wondering: what if, after all this time, she's been wrong all along...?

A simmering, small town enemies-to-lovers romance with big feels and lots of laughs from the bestselling author of Rachel Ryan's Resolutions. Perfect for fans of Beth O'Leary, Sophie Ranald and Portia MacIntosh.

©2023 Laura Starkey (P)2023 Bonnier Books UK

More from the same

What listeners say about Amy Perry's Assumptions

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was fine

Although a fairly easy (if predictable) listen, I have to admit I struggled to get through this. Amy was frustrating for much of the book - her obsession with Sam’s wealth/title got quite old quite quickly, and the fact that she was going to worst case scenario all the time was tiring. I also felt the argument they had after she overheard Sam’s chat with his dad was ridiculous - of course he cares about the upkeep of his house, of course he wants to raise money to do that! Why wouldn’t he?? It’s his home, and by all rights, a historical building that should be preserved, so I really can’t understand why she was acting as if Sam was the worst person in the world. It was all just a little bit frustrating and had me rolling my eyes.

Overall, it was fine and the narrator did well, but I don’t think this is a story I will be revisiting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I adored this book! Laura Starkey is such a talented writer, I’ve listened to and fallen in love with both the books she has written so far, and can’t wait for the next one! The characters felt really believable, and the setting was perfect. I hope someone starts a romantic fiction festival (or hopefully one already exists) because I’d be there in a heartbeat. Definitely give this a go!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!