Try an audiobook on us

All the Hidden Truths

Narrated by: Sarah Barron, Angus King
Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson. 

This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed 13 women, then himself.

But no one can say why. 

The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame...the truth seems to vanish. 

A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, All Hidden Truths will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy. 

©2018 Claire Askew (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really quite stunning

This is a really gripping book. From start to finish it drags you on an emotional roller coaster. Such strong characters who you really invest in.

This is definitely a book that you can sit back and enjoy before being dragged closer to the edge of your seat.

Really went narrated too. The reader grasped the emotional magnitude of the story and made it an amazing listen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In my Top 5 this year

Difficult subject matter sensitively handled makes this a book to remember. The way the story is told, through the very ordinariness of three women, makes it all seem so possible. The characters are well drawn and believable. Here is an author who can plot and pace, write sensitively and sustain interest throughout.
The narration is brilliant and the narrator has a real talent for different accents and clear diction.
Can’t recommend highly enough.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mouth sounds so off-putting

I could barely concentrate on the story as the mouth sounds from the narrator were so off-putting!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • CA
  • London
  • 13-10-18

Not for me

Read all the amazing views. I think I’m missing something here. This did not peak my interest until 45 minutes in when I thought ok this might be ok after all. It wasn’t.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Book, A Definite Listen

It’s unusual to find an intelligently written book and one that is beautifully narrated, but this is one of those rare finds. The story is written from the perspective of three women, each of whom finds herself looking at the same situation but from a very different angle. As a mother of boys and a girl I’ve watched them go through those painful years, am still doing so to an extent, so this book made my heart ache for both mothers in the story. I would definitely recommend this book without any hesitation (and I’m quite difficult to please).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly enabling empathy for all characters

Well done to the narrator. Every single one of the characters evoked a strong feeling of sadness - even the perpetrator. The construction of the tale was masterly and only towards the end did I understand the beginning. How does a parent live with the repercussions of such an act? A very good and thoughtful book. Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully crafted moving story of terrible loss

What would you be left with if your only child was the first killed in a college massacre? and how would you feel if you were the mother of the killer? This is the central theme of this very moving story. Each woman's narrative is held together by the narrative of the detective responsible for trying to answer the question why? My favourite book ever is "We need to talk about Kevin" which covers the same subject of teenage mass murder and at first I was disappointed that this book appeared to fall short of the narrative of Lionel Shriver. However a quarter of the through I could appreciate the different way in which this horrific subject had been handled and I began to enjoy Claire Askew's total empathy with the extreme emotions that each woman had been left with. Two shattered women looking for an answer whilst dealing with the loss of a child in their own ways. The only downside to this book was the depiction of the journalist, essentially I did not feel he added much to the story and his role could have been played down without affecting the overall outcome. I also liked the narration of Sarah Baron.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A solid crime mystery, with a unique view

The author has a similar style of writing to zadie Smith, but unlike white teeth, has a solid and exciting narrative at it’s core.

Given the subject, it could wallow, or be depressing, however that’s deftly avoided. The narrative drives on, revealing bits and bobs like a pass the parcel.

The narrator does an excellent job, she has a good accent range and clearly defines each character.

Well worth a listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

An excellent book on a difficult subject. There is a killing spree at a college 13 dead and suicide of the gunman. This is not a spoiler alert as the book deals with the fall out after the event. It is dealt with sensitively. Beautifully written and observed with an excellent narration. This has to be one of my top books this year.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Yikes
  • 11-08-18

Not For Me

I only listened to the first couple chapters of this book. The accent is so thick that I'm having trouble understanding it. I will be returning it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful