Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.09

Buy Now for £16.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Albanian Assignment is one of the finest special-forces memoirs to come out of the Second World War. Fans of Damien Lewis, Ben Macintyre, and Patrick Leigh Fermor will be enthralled by this book.

In 1940 Winston Churchill established the Special Operations Executive to "set Europe ablaze".

Three years later David Smiley and Billy McLean were parachuted into Northern Greece and crossed the border into Albania to do just that.

For the next eight months Smiley mediated between the competing resistance factions and organized them to conduct ambushes and acts of sabotage on fascist armies and infrastructure.

His actions were rewarded with an immediate Military Cross, yet his work in Albania was not done. Soon after he had left the country, tensions between the Albanian resistance movements had deteriorated into open conflict, meaning that Smiley and McLean were once again forced to parachute into the country to reconcile the guerrilla forces while continuing the fight against the Nazi forces.

Smiley's account of his time in Albania is a remarkable book that uncovers the operations and its difficulties of an SOE agent in one of the forgotten fronts of World War Two.

©1984 The Estate of David Smiley (P)2021 Tantor

More from the same

What listeners say about Albanian Assignment

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.