Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From 14 best-selling authors comes a new crime thriller anthology guaranteed to keep you up all night.

Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Lee Child.

“These stories are all so different and so good - creepy, haunting and funny too with some brilliant twists. Excellent work!” (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

“Wildly entertaining.” (Alex North, author of The Whisper Man)

“Delicious bite-sized crime.” (TE Kinsey, author of A Quiet Life in the Country)

“A fantastic short story collection by an amazing bunch of writers.” (Roz Watkins, author of The Devil’s Dice)

Some people are scared of the dark. But it’s the light that exposes the secrets.

A young boy with nightmares faces up to his demons. A deathbed confession turns the world on its axis. A five-year-old watches his parents bury a body in the garden. A soldier returns from the war to find the horror isn’t yet over.

Afraid of the Light brings the imagination of 14 best-selling crime writers together in a collection that will keep you up all night. From a deadly campfire game to a holiday gone wrong, to an AI assistant with a motive and a love affair that can only end in murder, this is a gripping, twisty set of stories to send a shiver down your spine.

Contributors:

"Are You Listening?" - Adam Southward

"Daddy Dearest" - Dominic Nolan

"Deathbed, Beth Dead" - Elle Croft

"Loveable Alan Atcliffe" - S R Masters

"Sleep Time" - Phoebe Morgan

"Coming Home" - N J Mackay

"Sausage Fingers" - Victoria Selman

"Just a Game" - Rachael Blok

"Drowning in Debt" - Heather Critchlow

"To Evil or Not to Evil" - Jo Furniss

"Sheep’s Clothing" - Robert Scragg

"Frantic" - Clare Empson

"Planting Nan" - James Delargy

"Shadow" - Kate Simants

©2020 Criminal Minds Group (P)2020 Victoria Selman

What listeners say about Afraid of the Light

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent anthology of short stories.

Most of the stories in this book are original and intense, and even those which aren't are well worth listening to.

John Sessions voice makes everything better, and he varies his performances enough to make each story sound different to the others.