Listen free for 30 days

A Wartime Christmas

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 8 hrs and 2 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The first in a heartfelt trilogy of wartime sagas, following the highs and lows of the staff at Edwardes Hotel. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Archer.

It's 1943. Evie Yeo's best friend Sukie and sister Pattie are leaving Devon behind and heading to London to work in a hotel. Sukie's fiancé, Wesley, is in a swing band that's booked to play the bar and with Sukie 'upstairs' on reception and Pattie a chambermaid 'downstairs', they see and share all aspects of the hotel and meet all of its residents.   

From the military officials in town for meetings at the war office, to people from the theatre helping to bring joy to the capital in wartime, an eclectic mix of people come together at this small hotel in Covent Garden. 

Full of all of the elements that saga listeners love - heartbreak and trauma alongside the camaraderie and friendship that would come with this unique saga setting - this new trilogy from Kitty Danton will offer an exciting and heartwarming listen for saga fans.

©2019 Kitty Danton (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A First

A friend recommended this book to me, saying it would 't matter that I hadn't read the three previous Evie books. This story, the first Kitty Danton I've listened to, is about Sukie and her life in Edwardes Hotel where she comes into contact with many personalities. I enjoyed the narrator's clear voice and pronunciation and the comical parrot made me laugh aloud; he was an, albeit on!y occasional, light relief. Sukie goes through a personally harrowing time, of the sort familiar to those in the second world war but with unexpected twists. The writing is crisp and uses appropriate wartime phrases keeping within the historical period. The story is moved on with sensitivity yet avoids becoming overly sentimental; I recommend it, and will be reading the other Kitty Danton books as I enjoyed this one very much.