Try an audiobook on us

A Memory Called Empire

Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 15 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)
Regular price: £24.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A new ambassador arrives in the galactic empire’s capital to investigate her predecessor’s murder. But nothing could have prepared her for the labyrinth of intrigue ahead - which will threaten both her and the empire itself.

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the capital of the Teixcalaanli Empire, eager to take up her new post. But when she arrives, she discovers her peoples’ previous ambassador was murdered - and no one will admit it wasn't an accident. Mahit must hunt down the killer while somehow preventing the empire from annexing her home: a small independent mining station.

Yet to achieve all this she must avoid assassination herself while becoming enmeshed in the intrigues at the city-planet’s heart. And Mahit is hiding a deadly technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.   

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire, is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.

©2019 Arkady Martine (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Robert
  • Uxbridge, United Kingdom
  • 02-05-19

Speech cadence off

I gave up after ten minutes. I found the speech cadence of the reader a bit off. Sentences ended at odd inflections. The speech was also a bit emotionless.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional start to this space opera series

Really superb and on par with recent greats like ancillary justice, the expanse series.

Features palace intrigue and politics, contains several surprises and a small bit of romance.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story

easy listen, narration is done well easy to follow who is speaking. liked the story, good characters think the overworld needs some more work but ok as it is.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Astonishingly good!

The story was brilliant and thoroughly enjoyable and all the characters were so interesting. I thought the sci-fi technology aspects were very cleverly and thoughtfully done and the cultural elements were really rich as well. The author created a fascinating world and described it so poetically. I can't wait for the next installment! It was read very well so that the characters were easy to distinguish and the emotion came through very powerfully. It is good to see sci-fi with such a strong cast of believable female characters leading the story. It had plenty of intrigue, politics, action, suspense and surprises!