Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"Looking back, I wish I could find my way back to that moment. I’d snatch it and hold onto it and live in it for the rest of my life, if I could. When Emily could still throw her arms around me. Oh God, just give me that moment, or one like it again. That’s all I want." 

From the moment Emily was born, reaching out with her tiny little star-shaped hand towards her mother, blinking with long eyelashes over soft blue eyes, she became Rachel’s whole world. 

But Rachel’s worst nightmare comes true when a rare auto-immune illness leaves 4-year-old Emily in a coma the doctors say she may never come out of. And Rachel has to make a heartbreaking decision - one that her ex-husband, Emily’s dad James, doesn’t agree with. 

Terrified she’s going to lose her daughter for good, Rachel knows she must find a way to keep the hope alive for Emily. But there is only one person she can turn to for help to convince James - and it’s his new wife, Eva. 

As an unlikely but powerful friendship develops between the two women, both Rachel and Eva will have to ask themselves - what is truly the right choice for the tiny, fragile little girl who lies between them? 

A beautiful story that will break your heart into a million pieces, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Susan Lewis. 

Listeners love Kate Hewitt: 

"I don’t think I have ever cried as much…heartbreaking…There are not enough stars in the world to show how much this book has touched me." (Sinfully Wicked Book Reviews, 5 stars)

"Heart-wrenching and captivating…as good as anything Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain have ever written…gripping, engrossing and compelling." (Bookish Jottings)

"Oh my gosh! This book is sad, thrilling, gripping and completely pulls on your heart strings…Full of heartache, tough decisions, dilemmas, drama, and struggles of everyday life…In two words, simply amazing!" (Books on the Bookshelf, 5 stars)

"Oh wow…This story has literally broken my heart into tiny little pieces at every emotional and heartbreaking turn." (Welcome to Mixing Reality with Fiction Book Blog, 5 stars)

©2020 Kate Hewitt (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about A Hope for Emily

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I was really looking forward to listening to this book. However, I found it boring and it didn't keep my attention. The narrator had an annoying nasal voice and there wasn't much difference between the voices of the two main women characters. I was glad to get to the end of it to be honest.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A powerful message

A book which gives insight into parents of a child with a terminal diagnosis. The hope, the laughter and the tears that go along with this and the relationship tests. Recommend to anyone who works with special needs children and their families.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart rending story

Rachel's little daughter Emily has an undiagnosed mystery illness that is slowly killing her by inches. Rachel wants to fight it all the way, even seeking out untested experimental treatment overseas. The strain of the whole experience breaks up her marriage, and her husband marries again - to a lady called Eva who has her own mysteriously similar history. Being able to understand much of what Rachel is feeling, they become unlikely allies. All the way through this sad story, I kept hoping little Emily would find a cure. For a long time I was convinced that the key lay in the baby that Eva is trying to conceive. I thought that the baby would end up donating stem cells and curing Emily or something. But unfortunately, though that would have been a great storyline, it wouldn't have been reality. This is lile a real life documentary - brutally real and honest, highlighting the very tragic reality that some families have to face every day. It doesn't make for a great story, it's very slow paced and ultimately nothing actually happens. It's really heavy going. Nothing gets any better for little Emily. But it does raise awareness of how terminal illness affects a family.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marilynne
  • Marilynne
  • 13-08-20

Great!

I really liked the book. I will defiantly be looking into more of Kate Hewitt’s books.