Try an audiobook on us

A Fatal Flaw

Ryder & Loveday, Book 3
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Series: Ryder & Loveday Mysteries, Book 3
Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)
Regular price: £11.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The brand-new Ryder & Loveday novel from global best seller Faith Martin!

Oxford, 1960.

As the city of Oxford prepares itself for the inaugural Miss Oxford Honey Beauty Pageant at The Old Swan Theatre, excitement is in the air. 

But when one of the leading contestants is found dead, suspicion hangs over the competition. 

Poisoned, the authorities assume her death was suicide. But after a malicious series of pranks and blackmail attempts are reported, WPC Loveday and Coroner Clement Ryder are called upon to solve the case. 

In an atmosphere of fierce competition, the list of suspects is endless. Could what have started as harmless fun become a deadly race to win the prize? 

With time running out, the duo need to spot the killer before tragedy strikes again.... 

A gripping murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton. 

©2019 Faith Martin (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Helen
  • Bracknell, United Kingdom
  • 15-03-19

Very poor.

No story, dull characters, could have 2/3's shorter. I made the mistake of reading a review that compared this author to PD James. Nothing could be further from the truth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Good Book

This is the third in the series. I would firstly say go back and start with part one. They could be listened to out of order. But best start at the beginning A Fatal Obsession. that said they are all well written, if at times a little silly and far fetched. But to me that added to the charm of these easy to listen tales. All of which I have enjoyed thoroughly. Stephanie Racine does a great job narrating the stories. I ploughed my way through all three downloading the next straight after finishing one. I recommend highly.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Colette M. Cummings
  • 22-02-19

Love this unlikely duo

I really like this series featuring an unlikely pairing of a probationary officer and a cornerer with his own issues.
The character development is amazing. The two make a great team. This storyline differ freely from their previous cases, but was necessary for the advancement of the series.
This book finds them in the world of beauty pageants and. up against a formidable killer. You will have to listen for details. It is worth a credit.
I am looking forward to the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-03-19

Enjoyed the 3 books.

I have enjoyed the 3 books of the series and I am eagerly awaiting the release of the 4th in September.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • matt harrington
  • 12-03-19

Good Read

Wonderful cozy mystery. Like the series. Fun read. Good characters. Plausible ending. Would recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gale Ann
  • 13-02-19

Well done!

I am a huge fan of Faith Martin and read ALL of her Hillary Greene procedurals since they haven't been released in audio format. I was absolutely delighted with the choice of narrator for this third outing of the Ryder Loveday series. Stephanie Racine was flawless. I hope to hear her narrate more British mysteries. The sense of time and place that Faith Martin imbues her stories with was captured in this 1960's Oxford setting. The story was a true whodunit since I had no clue of the villain until the coroner sleuth, Dr. Ryder and the WPC, Trudy Lovelace, who is up against all kinds of stereotyping by her chauvinist boss and male coworkers as the first female police constable at this station make a good team. I look forward to more in this series and read by Stephanie Racine!