Try an audiobook on us

A Body in the Lakes

A Gripping Crime Thriller with a Heart-Stopping Twist
Narrated by: Madeleine Gould
Series: Detective Beth Young, Book 2
Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
4 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)
Regular price: £18.29
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The woman’s limbs were so thin; the skin on her arms as translucent as tracing paper. Around her neck lay a faint string of purple bruises. In one so frail, darker, angrier marks might be expected, but Beth knew the bruising would have stopped the moment her heart stopped beating.

When a walker finds the body of a woman by the shores of Lake Ullswater, the police are put on high alert. Felicia Evans was known to be a tough character, but who would have strangled her?

Detective Beth Young quickly spots the links to three cold cases. Three women strangled and discarded in the stunning, wild hills of the Lake District.

As Beth begins tracking down witnesses, the team receives an anonymous letter claiming the charming mayor of Carlisle is behind the murders. There’s pressure from the top to clear his name. But Beth is determined to find the truth no matter whose feathers she ruffles in the process.

Beth knows the clock is ticking. The killer is hunting again. And it’s down to her to find who’s responsible before another woman becomes his prey....

A gripping edge-of-your-seat thriller from best-selling author Graham Smith, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and J.R. Ellis. 

©2019 Graham Smith (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful. Clichéd, repetitive & full of stereotypes.

One of the worst books I've listened to. The narration was poor but the story was utterly riduculous, full of dreadful dialogue and appallingly drawn characters. I have no idea how the other reviewers have given it 4 or 5 stars...either they haven't read any other books or they have very low expectations. I persevered with it as I'm local to the area it was set in otherwise I would have binned it very early on. I'm astonished any editor didn't reduce it by a third as it repeated itself so much.... Altho I would have reduced it to nothing. Dreadful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dyane
  • DRIFIELD, EAST YORKSHIRE, United Kingdom
  • 01-04-19

Excellent read

Wow fast paced & twists & turns throughout. Excellent narrator. Highly recommended. Really enjoyed it.