Listen free for 30 days

Viper

Isles of Storm and Sorrow, Book 1
By: Bex Hogan
Narrated by: Saffron Coomber
Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life - to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles - but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.  

He will make me a killer. Or he will have me killed. That is my destiny.  

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.  

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.  

He's the most dangerous man on the ocean...and he is Marianne's father.  

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves - and perhaps even her life?  

©2019 Bex Hogan (P)2019 Hodder Children’s Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A hugely entertaining adventure

My daughter recommended this book and I absolutely loved it. Anyone who enjoyed the Hunger Games (as or does include a fair bit of violence) or any fantasy adventure should really enjoy this. I cant wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story but very bloodthirsty

Really captivated by the tale and it's well written, but I struggled with all the barbaric acts.