Listen free for 30 days

Time Pebbles

Narrated by: Emily Sutton-Smith
Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Tekla, son of an ancient shaman, loses Ka Li when she is torn from his life by a brutal tribe of Denisovans in a Late Pleistocene kidnapping.

Ka Li escapes but is unarmed and forced to flee across the Bering land bridge where she becomes hopelessly lost in the endless tracts of North America. Only Tekla cares enough to search for her over the years. As Ka Li survives fierce predators and scarce resources, she leaves behind a series of signal cairns to help Tekla find her.

Skipping forward 60,000 years, Helen Ryland, a mid-20th century archaeologist, unearths one of Ka Li’s surviving signal cairns and realizes she has found trace of people who populated the Americas even before the Clovis culture. Helen’s detective work tracking Ka Li’s timeless signals across the Alaskan wilderness now intertwines with Ka Li’s story. As Helen solves the puzzle of the signal cairns she finds universal fame and suffers devastating misfortune. In the end, Helen discovers that science in isolation cannot answer all of her questions for Tekla’s devotion to Ka Li had not died even though 600 centuries had passed.

©2014 Jerry Merritt (P)2018 Podium Publishing

More from the same

What listeners say about Time Pebbles

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Not great

I thought this was a sequel to a gift of time as one of the characters was called lovely pebbles. The first book was about time travel and I though this was the natural progression to the sequel but I could not have been more mistaken. This is a completely different book whose narration leaves something to be desired, unfortunately I returned this book which is the first time I have ever done this.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little predictable

A rich story that in the tradition of Jean Awre and Clan of the Cave Bear tried to bring life to ancient history. An enjoyable read . Just a little 'organised' and tried hard to fill in history. However I learnt a few things from the archaeological time line that I glad to known before.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story awful narration

I loved the story but the narrator sounded like a robot, she really spoilt the overall enjoyment

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything I am fascinated by in this book

This story gripped me emotionally and spiritually. A little spoilt by the slightly robotic narration. If you are passionate about our ancient history and even if you are not you won,t be disappointed .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

I like this author hope he writes more very interesting and different decor book of his I've listened to and enjoyed