Listen free for 30 days

Time Pebbles

Narrated by: Emily Sutton-Smith
Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
4 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Tekla, son of an ancient shaman, loses Ka Li when she is torn from his life by a brutal tribe of Denisovans in a Late Pleistocene kidnapping.

Ka Li escapes but is unarmed and forced to flee across the Bering land bridge where she becomes hopelessly lost in the endless tracts of North America. Only Tekla cares enough to search for her over the years. As Ka Li survives fierce predators and scarce resources, she leaves behind a series of signal cairns to help Tekla find her.

Skipping forward 60,000 years, Helen Ryland, a mid-20th century archaeologist, unearths one of Ka Li’s surviving signal cairns and realizes she has found trace of people who populated the Americas even before the Clovis culture. Helen’s detective work tracking Ka Li’s timeless signals across the Alaskan wilderness now intertwines with Ka Li’s story. As Helen solves the puzzle of the signal cairns she finds universal fame and suffers devastating misfortune. In the end, Helen discovers that science in isolation cannot answer all of her questions for Tekla’s devotion to Ka Li had not died even though 600 centuries had passed.

©2014 Jerry Merritt (P)2018 Podium Publishing

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Not great

I thought this was a sequel to a gift of time as one of the characters was called lovely pebbles. The first book was about time travel and I though this was the natural progression to the sequel but I could not have been more mistaken. This is a completely different book whose narration leaves something to be desired, unfortunately I returned this book which is the first time I have ever done this.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little predictable

A rich story that in the tradition of Jean Awre and Clan of the Cave Bear tried to bring life to ancient history. An enjoyable read . Just a little 'organised' and tried hard to fill in history. However I learnt a few things from the archaeological time line that I glad to known before.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story awful narration

I loved the story but the narrator sounded like a robot, she really spoilt the overall enjoyment

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything I am fascinated by in this book

This story gripped me emotionally and spiritually. A little spoilt by the slightly robotic narration. If you are passionate about our ancient history and even if you are not you won,t be disappointed .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

I like this author hope he writes more very interesting and different decor book of his I've listened to and enjoyed

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Playonwards
  • Playonwards
  • 13-06-18

Elegant parallels

Engaging from start to finish Jerry Merritt does it again. Like his last book there's a point where it seems that two sets of story points have wandered too far afield to ever meet up again and then he does his writerly magic and brings it on home to a satisfying and emotionally compelling conclusion.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DobieChuck
  • DobieChuck
  • 31-05-18

Superb StoryTelling

Loved the concept and its implementation... Gotta say though, not really SF, more historical fiction adventure, unless you consider anthropology and paleontology SF... The back and forth chronologically is seamlessly done, and uber enjoyed the early scientific advances... Has some serious power and poignancy, and keeps you hooked w/ the interweaved story arcs... However, the narration was pretty bland and detracted a bit... It’s a professional job, but has no feeling... 1.25 too slow and 1.5 a touch too quick... Overall an excellent story, better than average audio book, due to only average performance...

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Chase
  • Diane Chase
  • 16-06-18

A very memorable story!

As I started my listen my mind wandered but shortly I could not stop listening! I sat the last 5 hrs. seeing it and being there.haven't been that taken away in many years! My family wonders what have been doing for so long. Their dinner is very late but part of me is still in that story! Thank you so very much!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 12-06-18

Good read

Interesting story, very timely also with old fossils being found in the news, spring of 2018.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia Gearld
  • Cynthia Gearld
  • 16-05-18

Loved it

I wish the songs where in it, but otherwise it was amazing. Can't wait for your next book the first two are very well done.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Frere
  • D. Frere
  • 13-08-18

Not at all what I expected

I’ve listened to Mr Merritt’s book, “A Gift of Time” and it has become one of my all time favorites. I decided to listen to Time Pebbles on a 7 hr road trip to Lake Tahoe from Los Angeles. I was gripped by story of Tekla’s unrelenting quest to find his future mate Ka Li who was kidnapped by a raider tribe along with other abducted women. This is a story of fierce courage in the face of uncertainty in dangerous surroundings, survival against savage predators (people and wild animals), the origins of a society and unfailing loyalty and love. There is also a parallel story of Helen who millennia after Tekla’s era pieces together their story after finding key artifacts. The ending was not what I expected but a good one at that. Recommended read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for i love this game so much  you will once you start playing it!
  • i love this game so much you will once you start playing it!
  • 03-08-18

Gift of Time was just an amazing read and this book while completely different is superb too.

Gift of Time is science fiction but such a unique story and so well written that I was excited for his next novel. I was surprised when his new novel wasn't science fiction at all. I'm not normally a fan of the genre of Time Pebbles which is historical fiction. This was so compelling from the start and so well written with characters that you cared about that I loved it. I can wait to see his next book because I will read / listen to anything that he had written

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VJG
  • VJG
  • 26-05-18

Finding your tribe

The ancient portions of this story seem to be genuinely researched and truly “could” depict what life was like for early man and woman. The modern portions also feel authentic but this isn’t just a story about geography and history- there’s a really appealing mystical element of connection between people in the same time and across time

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Veronica L Miskowski
  • Veronica L Miskowski
  • 05-08-18

Engaging Love Story

This book does a great job of skillfully weaving two story arcs across vast distances into one. I remained deeply interested in every character not realizing the author was leading me to a surprising yet very satisfying reunion. I'll look for more works from this highly entertaining writer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C Christopher Taylor
  • C Christopher Taylor
  • 16-07-18

Good story-just a tiny bit stiff at times

This was a good story. There are actually two storylines interwoven. The author does a good job of keeping both storylines moving/interesting. The only drawback I saw was a few times when the characters were relaying information or explaining some action they needed to perform the language was a little stiff and slightly self-conscious. Still a great read/listen!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful