Listen free for 30 days

  • The Spitfire Girl

  • A Village at War
  • By: Ellie Curzon
  • Narrated by: Polly Edsell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Spitfire Girl cover art

The Spitfire Girl

By: Ellie Curzon
Narrated by: Polly Edsell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Christmas with the Engine Girls cover art
The Girls of Bomber Command cover art
The Girl from Norway cover art
The Ghost of Captain Hinchliffe cover art
War Clouds over Blackberry Farm cover art
Nobody's Girl cover art
Past Encounters cover art
The Housekeeper's Daughter cover art
The Harbour Master's Daughter cover art
The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger cover art
Resistance cover art
A Wing and a Prayer cover art
A Wartime Welcome at Rookery House cover art
The Codebreaker Girls cover art
The Wartime Bookshop cover art
A Christmas Baby at Goodwill House cover art

Summary

A gripping and totally heartbreaking World War Two historical fiction saga.

England, 1941. "I’m sorry. Freddy’s plane went down." Her knees buckle. "No," she whispers. But the next words break through her despair. "There is a chance we can rescue him. And you are the only one who can." She didn’t wait to answer. She would do anything to get Freddy home.

Sally has always been happiest flying her stunt plane, thrilling audiences across the world, with her oldest friend and dearest love Freddy. Until the war tears everything apart.

When she is approached by the Ministry of Defence, Sally jumps at the chance to be part of a classified project. Seeing the new, improved Spitfire plane, her jaw drops. She’s been chosen to run test flights and get it battle ready. This could turn the tide of war. But she can’t tell a soul, not even Freddy.

Even though she’s making sure the plane is safe for Royal Air Force pilots like her darling Freddy, her heart breaks as the secret weighs on their relationship. And as she tries to close the distance between them, disaster strikes. Freddy has been lost over Nazi-occupied France. And he was in the top-secret Spitfire.

Stunned, Sally can’t believe he took the plane on its first mission. But with Nazis on the hunt, time is running out. Sally must risk everything to stop the plane from falling into enemy hands and rescue her beloved Freddy. Will she find Freddy and bring him safely back to Bramble Heath, or will they be parted forever?

A totally emotional historical novel, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries, and Rosie Clarke.

©2023 Ellie Curzon (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Spitfire Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.