Listen free for 30 days

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

Narrated by: Karen Traynor
Length: 13 hrs and 10 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Set in 1920s Scotland, this beautifully written and satisfying saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner's daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision.... Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Rita Bradshaw and Nadine Dorries.

Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business.

Margaret cares deeply for her father, but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was 16, she's determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn't count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison.

Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William's side for years, and he didn't become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away - even if it means destroying his only daughter's happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice....

©2018 Emma Fraser (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

"An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams." ( People's Friend)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

tremendous listen

overall brilliant. just feel the ending was slightly rushed could have maybe gone on a little further without wanting to give to much away. overall though a gripping listen that I thoroughly enjoyed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful