Listen free for 30 days

The Night Mark

Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
4 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She has nothing to live for in the present but finds there's something worth dying for in the past....

From Tiffany Reisz, the international best-selling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and the Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance, and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse where a power greater than love works its magic.

©2017 Tiffany Reisz (P)2017 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A captivating time travel story.

I really enjoyed this story. When I read it was about time travel I must admit, I was almost put off reading it but the story and the author's writing made sure that my initial hesitancy was quickly quashed. I am also not a historical romance reader but again, travelling back to 1921 was done with ease and I even enjoyed the time the characters spent in this era perhaps more than present day.

Whilst known for her erotic works of fiction, the author stepped back from eroticism with this story and produced, in my eyes, a story that sold itself on its essence rather than it's sex appeal.

As always with Tiffany Reisz books, there is still a strong religious feel to the story, and a loveable Priest has been included.

Whilst the main characters (Faye/Carrick) were endearing, so were the side characters. Dolly, from 1921 was captivating as was Father Pat (in both his present day and 1921 form).

What I loved about this book was that I couldn't see where it was headed or what to expect next. Despite the travelling back and forth in time, each journey was not without its drama as Faye's life is re-written time and time again. By the end of the story, a balance has been struck and Faye is able to enjoy her HEA, the outcome of which was captured in time.

The Narrator, Teri Schnaubelt, really brought this book to life and made the story even more enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Absolutely fell in love with this book and all the characters in it, absolutely devastated that it was over !!! I laughed I cried ... made my journey to and from work much more pleasurable ❤️

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dee May
  • Dee May
  • 19-08-17

As always Teri did a wonderful performance.

What made the experience of listening to The Night Mark the most enjoyable?

The True love , even in different to times

Who was your favorite character and why?

Faith and Karic(I hope that's how the name is spelled)

What about Teri Schnaubelt’s performance did you like?

Everything, she is wonderful. This is what drove me to the book. She was the narrator.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end when she found her true love again

Any additional comments?

Excellent read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorna
  • Lorna
  • 03-07-17

Wonderful Time Travel Romance

So different from most of this type of read or listen. Much more real than what I am used to in the world of time travel romances. Great characters, all the "feels" and a really amazing romance made this a five star read for me. Narration was nothing short of perfect for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzanne Harris
  • Suzanne Harris
  • 01-07-17

Absolutely sublime.

Honestly, one of the very best books I have ever experienced. I was completely captivated from the start and that interest never waned. I normally jump right on to the next book in my library but I'm so sad this story is over that I can't even think about starting something else. I've loved everything that Tiffany Reisz has written but this was on another level for me. The narration was perfect and just how I imagine Faye would sound. Absolutely sublime.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kyproff
  • kyproff
  • 17-06-17

great time travel story

I felt like I was in 1921! Great story and wonderful love story. Love her other works too!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole H.
  • Nicole H.
  • 14-12-19

I was with it till the last couple of chapters

I am an Outlander fan and was looking for something to read that had some elements of it. I like the time-travel idea and I like the romance aspect. This book had those and did it in a way that was a little difficult to accept ( that sounds funny right because we shouldn't accept time travel anyways). I was there for this book, taking the ride happily until the last couple of chapters. This pushed the bounds of romance for me. It felt like the romance was really based on a lie and I don't feel like it ever really got resolved. Lovie emerges in the course of one week and what it was based off of in the beginning was not real. I feel like in the end the author tried to push her theme. If you have to state it out loud, I don't think you're doing a good job. I also think it taught a bad lesson. I'm trying not to be too specific here because I don't want to ruin this for somebody who wants to read the book. I think it is worth the read for anyone looking for a time travel and romance story, however, it has a lot of weak points in it. In my opinion, that only happens towards the end. Maybe the author was rushed or something?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam H
  • Sam H
  • 27-08-19

Love and Loss

This was an interesting and well told story of love and loss as well as getting past losing someone close. Couched in shifting between time, the lighthouse history is accurate and interesting. The playing out of the role of women in the 1920’s in South Carolina is difficult at times, especially in the context of physical and emotional abuse, but gives depth to the story. First and foremost, this is a love story and a story of family, not necessarily traditional family. The characters are well developed, engaging, and believable. This is a well told, enjoyable tale, with just a hint of spice.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joy L. Watkins
  • Joy L. Watkins
  • 17-05-17

Poorly Written

What would have made The Night Mark better?

I can't believe this book has such great reviews. I love the idea of the story but the writing is very amateurish. I tried to keep reading because it was our book club choice, just couldn't do it.

Would you ever listen to anything by Tiffany Reisz again?

No, I wouldn't waste my time.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Too Happy
  • Too Happy
  • 13-10-17

Blatant preaching about Climate.

I had to stop listening because the book was going no where but downhill with implausable scenes.

The author was too busy pushing failed global warming to write the story. And catering to some fringe element of society that has to have every type of variation in humans represented. Get over it all ready. I didn't buy this to be preached at. We've heard it for years and the beaches are still there. I live in the Carib because they are not disappearing.

Honestly!

Back it goes.

1 person found this helpful