Listen free for 30 days

The New Frontiers Series Boxed Set

The Ship, NFI, and NEO
Narrated by: Tom Lennon
Series: The New Frontiers Series, Book 1-3
Length: 32 hrs and 37 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Three complete novels. Almost 1,000 pages of lighting-paced action. 

Anyone who is a fan of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, David Weber will love Jack L. Knapp. And they do. Thousands of copies have been downloaded. This is science-fiction at its best - future engineering, intrigue, first contact....It’s a space opera like none you’ve experienced before. The audiobooks will keep you listening late into the night - you won't be able to stop!

Audiobook 1: The Ship 

Building a spaceship that uses Nicola Tesla's revolutionary space drive is only the beginning. From a new industrial revolution to the brink of global war, restless humanity presses onward, eventually to the first contact with an alien species. 

There will be changes...if we survive.

Fans of Carl Sagan, Arthur C. Clarke, and Jerry Pournelle will love this hard SF series. 

"Readers who like their socket wrenches properly used will love this" - T. Jackson King

"Interesting approach combining near future with imaginative science" - Amazon Customer

"A real 'hard' science fiction novel. Jack Knapp continues to write a good story. I love that his editing is also superb. No more errors than I’d find in a professionally published book." - Ronald Q. Smith

Audiobook 2: NFI 

New Frontiers, Inc, is leading the drive to conquer space. Overcoming opposition from powerful and jealous nations is only the beginning. What of the alien society that left those mysterious beacons in the asteroid belt? They’re still here, and they’re not happy....

If you liked John Ringo’s Troy Rising trilogy, you’ll enjoy Jack Knapp’s New Frontiers series.

Much more action, skullduggery, etc. Plenty of new tech, lots of spying, and back door deals. We may be on the eve of WWIII.

Audiobook 3: NEO

World War III is about to break out. As if that wasn’t dangerous enough, the enigmatic extraterrestrials called the Flickers have returned with a warning: do not venture beyond the moon. Faced with the ultimate threat, can humanity put aside their differences and unite to face the common danger?

Fans of Robert A. Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and David Weber will enjoy this series.

"...a page turner...I was up most of the night." - Blair Howard

"A well written book and a great series that grabs your attention and holds it" - CB

"It’s such a rare event that a story captures my attention so well that I forget to eat and sleep. The author really understands Geopolitics and human nature" - Kindle Scotty 

©2016-present Jack L Knapp (P)2018 Jack L Knapp

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ross
  • Frome, United Kingdom
  • 16-10-18

Good story, iffy narrator

I enjoy the book, but the narration was poor, especially Australian accents. Once you get over this it’s a good listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story - worst narrator ever

Good story - ruined by a narrator that cannot create character differentiation in their voice. First book has several sections where you can hear him re-recording due to mistakes (seems Russian voices were difficult to do)

worth listening to but please do not ever get this person to read another book - unless its main character is Elma Fudd...

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Pratt
  • M. Pratt
  • 28-07-18

Something almost happens then nothing.

Hate this story line, builds you up to something happening then "A BIG NOTHING", it does this throughout the whole story. The reading was OK but the books are not what they could have been.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PB
  • PB
  • 19-11-18

Infodump, the pseudoscience.

I gave this book EIGHT HOURS to get good. Eight. That's probably most of the first book in the boxed set. Not sure exactly because it's not really going anywhere. The majority of the "story" is pseudoscience technobable. The few times when something actually interesting might be happening it gets mentioned as something that will be happening soon...then we hear about the aftermath. For no sane reason the author put all the interesting parts off-screen, and all the boring parts on screen in exhaustive detail. If I hadn't bought this three months ago and left it in my library before reading it, I would be returning it now. One thing's for sure; I am NEVER buying another book by Jack L Knapp.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BrianK
  • BrianK
  • 02-06-18

Knapp make it all seem real

This is not one of those Si-Fi things filled with incredible things that almost make your eyes roll back.

Very detailed technically so it all seems plausible.

Not much of a story really, it is all about the science really.

Very enjoyable and a lot for the money.

Will get the next in the series. Now that we have first contact, want to know more bout it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for norman
  • norman
  • 27-06-18

Science Fiction of the near future

A good science fiction series of the near future. The first book is sort of slow, but the next two books were much better.This series would probably be enjoyed by fans of Arthur C Clarke or Ben Bova. I thought the narrator, Tom Lennon, did an excellent job with the voices, both male and female.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matt
  • Matt
  • 10-05-18

Another winner by Jack Knapp

I really enjoyed Jack Knapp's Darwin's World series so when I saw this I had to try it.

This is just as good, maybe better. They do need to fix the audio in the beginning of Chapter 24 where a few sentences are repeated. Other than that however the production is fine.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KyleR
  • KyleR
  • 02-06-18

Great Detail - Everything seems real

First - over 32 hours for one credit is a great bargain. Each of these three books is a full length novel.

The stories starts with Tesla's theories about propulsion and finally ends with first encounter. Reads like a history, except it hasn't happened - yet.

The audio was fine. Either they fixed it or I am less picky than some others. Truly enjoyed this and will be buying the next installment when available.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EricN
  • EricN
  • 10-05-18

Great Series

Great Cliff hanger to get you to buy #4. We will actually get to meet the aliens in that one.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor M. Lewis
  • Trevor M. Lewis
  • 17-05-19

Painfully two dimensional...

I gave it the old college try, managing to get a bit through the second book but then realized that I really didn't give a hoot about *any* of the characters. When a character dies the others seem to respond with a quick "Oh. Me sad." and go on about their lives. These sort of events usually push the storyline and help develop the other characters. Not so here.

As to the sci-fi part of this? Well, there's one thing, vaguely unique in the sci-fi world and then that horse is flogged. And flogged. And flogged. "Oooh, make thing! Now make similar thing! Now make another similar thing!" The premise is never actually *explored* and it quickly becomes tiresome.

Now I'll often stick with a book because I like the narrator. Nope. Not here. I'm going to avoid anything that Tom Lennon does without a very good reason otherwise. There is no vocal difference between any of the characters, either male or female (of which there is only one female character, so it's not like he has to contend with much), and his delivery is so flat that the vaguely emotional parts of the story (seldom given more than a paragraph) come across about as interesting as someone reading the ingredients on a cereal box.

All in all, this feels like someone had one sort of unique idea and turned what should have been a short story into three volumes by plagiarizing himself over and over again via copy and paste.

I cannot in all good conscience recommend this to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A Jerome Thompson
  • A Jerome Thompson
  • 28-12-18

To much detail...

the story was pretty good when it got to the second and third book. it had too much detail on Little Things without that the book probably would have lasted two-thirds of the amount of time also the narrator he wasn't that great not for a story like this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark Matthews
  • Mark Matthews
  • 13-12-18

Believable Story

Jack has a knack, (lol), for writing a plausible and believable story in this series. I’d recommend this to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful