Listen free for 30 days

The Mistress

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 8 hrs and 7 mins
3.4 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come.

He didn’t need to ask twice. He knew I’d agree. Kind Laura. Obedient Laura. Laura the soft-spoken schoolteacher with the faded cardigans and flat shoes. Nobody ever suspected someone like me would appeal to handsome, charismatic, happily married Ralph. I think even he was surprised by his choice. But I’m used to people underestimating me.

But then maybe I underestimated Ralph, too. Because I never thought he’d be capable of doing what he did. It wasn’t only dangerous, it was very, very wrong. And I’m not talking about cheating on his wife.

As I said, I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come. The last thing on my mind was killing him.

A domestic thriller about secrets, lies, and how no marriage is ever what it seems from the outside. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Silent Wife.

©2020 Jill Childs (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Mistress

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Confusing

I was confused at the start, Laura and Ralph are having an affair, Ralph invites Laura to his family home that he shares with his 'unsuspecting wife' and daughter, they drink wine and have sex, they then argue, Ralph falls and dies, instantly Helen the wife appears (not sure where from), and says Laura is not to tell anyone what has happened or that she killed him. Just strange that 1. Laura went to the family home when clearly the wife wasn't far away, and 2. It just seemed too far fetched that the wife didn't seem bothered that the husband was dead or there was another woman in the house, and Laura didn't find it strange that the wife wasn't angry, upset and happy to just dump the body! I carried on with the book anyway, but found it hard to follow and kept having to skip back and listen again to follow it. It might have all come together in the end but I didnt make it that far