Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come.

He didn’t need to ask twice. He knew I’d agree. Kind Laura. Obedient Laura. Laura the soft-spoken schoolteacher with the faded cardigans and flat shoes. Nobody ever suspected someone like me would appeal to handsome, charismatic, happily married Ralph. I think even he was surprised by his choice. But I’m used to people underestimating me.

But then maybe I underestimated Ralph, too. Because I never thought he’d be capable of doing what he did. It wasn’t only dangerous, it was very, very wrong. And I’m not talking about cheating on his wife.

As I said, I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come. The last thing on my mind was killing him.

A domestic thriller about secrets, lies, and how no marriage is ever what it seems from the outside. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Silent Wife.

©2020 Jill Childs (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Mistress

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Confusing

I was confused at the start, Laura and Ralph are having an affair, Ralph invites Laura to his family home that he shares with his 'unsuspecting wife' and daughter, they drink wine and have sex, they then argue, Ralph falls and dies, instantly Helen the wife appears (not sure where from), and says Laura is not to tell anyone what has happened or that she killed him. Just strange that 1. Laura went to the family home when clearly the wife wasn't far away, and 2. It just seemed too far fetched that the wife didn't seem bothered that the husband was dead or there was another woman in the house, and Laura didn't find it strange that the wife wasn't angry, upset and happy to just dump the body!
I carried on with the book anyway, but found it hard to follow and kept having to skip back and listen again to follow it.
It might have all come together in the end but I didnt make it that far

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina
  • Christina
  • 30-12-20

Not one of my favorites.

I didn’t care for how tit drew out forever. I almost stopped reading half way in but finished it because I mean that’s what we do. Book readers.
The end isn’t really an end at all. You can guess the book all the way through it. A okay read if it’s free. I had to buy it and I wouldn’t recommend spending money on it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Darlene C.
  • Darlene C.
  • 07-05-21

I just can't anymore

I can't get past chapter 30. I literally have fallen asleep 4 times trying to listen. I just go back to where I left off and boom...fall asleep at chapter 30 - again. Nothing has happened past the 2nd chapter. The main character, Laura, just goes on and on about her feelings. It's so repetitive and incredibly boring that I'm not the least bit interested in finding out what Ralph has done. Definitely in the top 5 worst books I've listened to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cat Bing
  • Cat Bing
  • 07-01-21

Very enjoyable, but....

Loved the suspense and the narration, but how does a book get published when the grammar is consistently incorrect? “Farther” and “Further” do not have the same meaning, nor are they interchangeable. That really annoyed me.