Listen free for 30 days

The Dragon's Legacy

Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Series: The Dragon's Legacy Series, Book 1
Length: 18 hrs and 40 mins
3.7 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Deborah A. Wolf presents an epic fantasy in the tradition of Guy Gavriel Kay and Jacqueline Carey. 

In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash'ai - the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories - bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war...and death. 

Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja'Akari - a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep. 

There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.

©2017 Deborah A. Wolf (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic reviews

“A world of large-scale epic fantasy... This is a rare find and not to be missed.” (New York Times best-selling author Barb Hendee)

What listeners say about The Dragon's Legacy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brandon
  • Brandon
  • 01-08-19

A fantasy that is NOT set in Midieval New Zealand!

Great book! Well written and set in a refreshing landscape. The world is fantastic. Definitely worth listening to. The story is complex in a good way and keeps you interested in the many charter story lines. Bottom line listen to it.

3 people found this helpful