Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

One by one the girls disappeared....

When the frail body of a teenage girl is discovered strangled in a parking lot, shards of ice form in Detective Natalie Ward’s veins. As Natalie looks at the freckles scattered on her cheeks and the pale pink lips tinged with blue, she remembers that this innocent girl is somebody’s daughter.

The girl is identified as missing teenager Amelia Saunders, who has run away from home and her controlling father. Natalie’s heart sinks further when it becomes clear that Amelia has been working on the streets, manipulated by her violent new boyfriend, Tommy.

A day later, another vulnerable girl is found strangled on a park bench. Like Amelia, Katie Bray was a runaway with connections to Tommy, and Natalie is determined to find him and track down the monster attacking these scared and lonely girls.

But when a wealthy young woman is found murdered the next morning, the word guilty scrawled on her forehead, Natalie realizes that the case is more complex than she first thought. Determined to establish a connection between her three victims, Natalie wastes no time in chasing down the evidence, tracing everyone who crossed their paths. Then, a key suspect’s body turns up in the canal, a mole in Natalie’s department leaks vital information and everything seems to be against her. Can Natalie stop this clever and manipulative killer before they strike again?

A crime thriller from a best-selling author that will have you sleeping with the light on. This gripping roller-coaster ride is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Rachel Caine. Prepare to be totally hooked!

©2020 Carol Wyer (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Somebody's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

so many twists and turns, so many in's and outs, superb plot,
can't wait for the next installment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you are not already listening to this series...

You really should. This entire series is fantastic. I always buy the next chapter immediately. They are gritty and real, with excellent characters and narration throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Carol Wyer never disappoints

Another cracking read, edge of my seat following DCI Ward's adventures in Stamford. Great book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

love this whole series and I'm looking forward to the next installment.
easy listening and great narrative

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

This seemed to revive a series I felt should have come to an end. I’ve said it before and I know it’s churlish, but for me it’s off putting and that is the voice of Mike, it doesn’t match his description and makes him sound like, a not very bright, old man!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping storyline as always from Carol Wyer.

Plot twists mixed with personal lives, makes a fantastic read. Can't wait for next instalment!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Uneven storytelling

Although I am glad to have read this next book in the series, I was disappointed with the storytelling. The characters seemed overly cliched and the ending quite unsatisfying. Personally I would sack Lucy who seems like a petulant and incompetent DI. Not up to the author’s usual standard.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 13-09-20

great series

excelent naration by Diana Croft
she brings the books alive
love the twist and turns of Carol Wyners books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AddyJacks
  • AddyJacks
  • 02-09-20

Man O Man

I love Carol’s writing; this is a brilliant book that had me hooked from the prologue. I hope to enjoy Natalie’s investigations for a lifetime. Highly recommend ALL the Detective Natalie Ward books!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara
  • Barbara
  • 13-08-20

A Story That Resonates Today

Carol Wyer has created an intricate and intriguing story. The underlying topics of homelessness and mental illness resonate in today's climate.

Newly promoted DCI Natalie Ward is working through the challenges of a blended family with her partner, Mike, when she's thrown into a complicated series of murders. Are they the work of one killer, or are they random. Natalie assigns the case to recently promoted Lucy, who is not only struggling with her own issues, but is unsure of herself as lead Investigator.

As the case progresses, the team finds themselves involved in department politics, the world of the homeless, sufferers of mental illness, drugs, and prostitution.

I had a few suspects at the beginning, but learned I wasn't close to solving this case. There were some great twists in this story and I was hooked till the end.

Diana Croft did an excellent job as narrator.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Journey
  • Journey
  • 17-07-20

Don't waste your time.

Not worth ordering. Could not stay with it. Story was predictable and needed more excitement.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 16-07-20

Emotional

I couldn’t wait to order this book as soon as it was released.

Do not start the series with this book. Start at the beginning to get the backstories of the major players.

Natalie is now a DCI so she has to leave the investigation to Lucy and the team. But we know Natalie won’t stop taking part. Sadly, multiple murders occur and trying to find a connection keeps Lucy’s team on their toes. I say sadly because I felt sadness at these crimes. In a short time, Carol Wyer made me care for the victims. Most of them at least. And as the story wrapped up, I felt sadness at the ending. Real sadness. I’m still upset.

There was a message here, too, about mental illness and homelessness.

Again, Diana Croft did a fine job with the narration.