Regular price: £8.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

In case you're wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year - before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people - I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

©2014 Alice Oseman (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"The most honest and authentic account of modern teenage life that you'll read this year…outstanding contemporary fiction with appeal to fans of John Green." ( The Bookseller)

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • N
  • 22-11-16

Worth a listen

I did really enjoy it, i thought it was a really accurate portrayal of teenagers and was very relateable. The characters felt real and the dialogue was believable. Really enjoyed the wit, sarcasm and humor undermining the novel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a great book

Such a new story. I'm so bored and all this live stories about unlikely situations. I loved the voice of Tori it suits her so much.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Different. More realistic. Not bad.

What did you like best about Solitaire? What did you like least?

I like the realism and the bitter honesty of the protagonist. Tori is one of those characters whom you either love or hate. She isn't a happy character. She spends time ranting and seeing no point in everything and in the world around her. She doesn't even like her friends or the school she goes to. She's very cynical and pessimistic about life. Although she may seem like an unlikeable character, I felt that her voice rings a familiar bell with many teenagers and young adults. I myself felt like I can relate to her thoughts and pessimism about the world. Reading/listening about her reminded me of my own time in secondary school - and this was something that I liked about this book.

The book may seem draggy at times in pacing as whole chapters go past with hardly anything happening or have anything significant to take note. Despite that, I didn't mind this feature at all. I felt that the pace captures what real life is like, being slow and uneventful. Although there is something of a plot in this book - the mystery of this Solitaire blog - it doesn't take central stage.

The cast of characters were interesting at most. I find Michael Holden quirky and likeable, and enjoyed his and Tori's interactions very much. I think their friendship is one of the highlights of this book.

If you’ve listened to books by Alice Oseman before, how does this one compare?

This is the first book I've read/listened from this author.

Have you listened to any of Holly Gibbs’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Again, this is the first time I've listened to this narrator. She did a pretty good narration capturing the bitterness and frustration in Tori's voice. The narrator doesn't distinguish her voice for different characters though, so it is more like she is reading the book aloud rather than performing it. However, I don't have much of an issue with that.