Listen free for 30 days

Simple

Simp Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Kendra Murray
Series: Simp Series, Book 1
Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Nothing simple is real. You will look twice at people...and technology.

The idea of making life simple appealed to the mainstream. After the economic collapse of the 21st century, the government latched on to technology like an economic lifeline. Bio-synthetic humanoids integrated into society with relative ease. Taking on the menial jobs, humans grew dependent on their android counterparts, but the corporate sector took things too far. Wrapped in their one-click comfort zones, people trudged along with their lattes and fashion trend blinders.

The dark side of genetic engineering is a harsh reality. Humans are being hunted. They don’t stand a chance.

No one seemed to notice that they weren’t acting as hospitable as they once had. They should have. They didn’t have weaknesses like we did, and, they were capable of clever, unimaginable cruelty.

Those that have survived call the rogue bio-synthetic humanoids "simps" because the company that started the mess had a cheesy marketing campaign that said they made life "Simple". They couldn't have been more wrong. When the war broke out, simps were used to spare human losses. It was viewed as a brilliant solution until a developer working for the enemy infected the simps with a virus that caused them to turn on the humans they served. They couldn't shut them down fast enough.

Hailey Pachello doesn’t do people. She relies on herself because it’s easier. It’s safer, and it’s less dramatic. That is until she meets Leonard ‘Gizzard’ O’Malley. Giz has connections and a plan, and it might just be a good one.

Join Hailey as she embarks on her wondrous adventure, in a timeless, powerful, and memorable cyberpunk thriller. 

Fans of Isaac Asimov will appreciate this fast past thriller, although the three laws of robotics never applied to simps! This cyberpunk tale is set in the year 2038. 

©2014, 2020 Dena Nicotra (P)2020 Dena Nicotra

What listeners say about Simple

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead & West World

4.75 stars Described as a cyberpunk thriller, Simple by Dena Nicotra is a must read for fans of WestWorld and The Walking Dead. Loner Hailey thinks she’s managed to switch off her emotions. Don’t make a connection to anyone and you won’t get hurt when the simps get them! Join Hailey as she connects with a group of people you’ll not want to get too attached to either. Some of them might die, some of them might betray you, some of them might force you to confront your humanity, and some of them might even be simps in disguise. Initially published in 2014 this has now been released on audio and both the story and the narration are strong. In the time of Coronavirus I think this is also quite timely. We’ve all perhaps decided we’d like a taste of the simple life and we’ve all seen articles warning of a robotics take over. In come the Simples… Post ‘economic collapse’ bio-synthetic humans start off all helpful Disney employee but with no three laws to stop them from murderous rampage. Some of the depictions of how they turned on their humans were quite horrifying, especially as the bloody murders come with added movie quips. We jump straight into the world and are quickly given a sense of what Hailey has had to do to survive but she soon comes across Giz and Fish - who are perhaps not as helpless or as innocent as they first seem. Together they come up with a plan to survive, or die trying. The pace is well pitched and there are some quiet moments and a touch of romance too. The characters all seem, pardon the pun, fleshed out, and you can see why Hailey gets drawn into abandoning being alone. Some of the simps are truly terrifying and a couple of the humans aren’t much better. One negative about the book was the focus on fat shaming a particular character. Their size is mentioned a few too many times and I do wish Hailey hadn’t needed to resort to physical dislike of a character seemingly more than the plethora of other reasons given. There was a satisfying conclusion and an opening for another book, which I believe there is, although the audio isn’t yet available on UK Amazon. I’ll definitely be picking it up with a fingers crossed for the return of this narrator as she did an amazing job voicing Hailey, swears and all. I am also hoping for much more insight into the simps themselves, both the ones we’ve already met and the ones we probably don’t want to. Shout out also to the spooky cover - it gave the feel of a crime novel when I first saw it but this is spooky science fiction and entirely my type of post apocalyptic read. I received a gifted copy for the purposes of an honest review

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lelia T
  • Lelia T
  • 28-08-20

A Great Story

4.5 stars Ever since our first stay-at-home started, along about mid-March, I’ve had trouble getting much satisfaction out of reading and I know I’m not alone. I hear about it online and in Zoom book club meetings and it’s really frustrating; as best as I can explain it in my own case, it seems to be an inability to focus, to really get involved with what I’m reading. With only a handful of exceptions, most books have struck me as lackluster and, while I know the problem is me, not the books (for the most part), the end result is the same. Then along came Simple and, oh my, Dena Nicotra, aided by Kendra Murray’s fine narration, has taken me to a place I’ve missed—booklove. Can I point to anything in particular? No, I just got completely caught up with a terrific plot and characters who grabbed my attention, brought to vivid life by Ms. Murray’s distinct voices and spot-on sense of pacing. Ms. Nicotra’s worldbuilding is pretty darned good, too—I’d like to know more about how people first became so dependent on androids but the author gave enough background that I didn’t really feel a lack. Lee (Hailey) is a young woman I would love to know in real life, complex with a backbone of steel and a desire to not have to care about anybody. She fails at that but she also has the intelligence and street smarts to survive in this war against droids gone bad and, when she falls in with Mic and Giz, the action starts to ramp up seriously. Then there’s my next favorite character, Two, and a passel of bad guys who also just happen to be full of personality. Oh, and by the way, Ms. Murray’s interpretation of Sonya is, well, perfect. Technically, this book could be a standalone but I want more so I’m very happy to know there’s a sequel, Real. Now I just need to hope there will be an audio edition…soon.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roman Jackson
  • Roman Jackson
  • 07-07-20

Distopian Thriller.

It is not an easy task to create fiction that is not only possible, but believable. This series, late and long-overdo, is told from first person, not so easily accomplished, and lays out very well the struggles and hard-ships of a war-torn, machine-controled Earth. The characters are believable, and also easily likeable. The writing and pacing are fluid, though the chapters are long. So, be warned if you are the kind of reader who pauses between chapters, there aren't many, and they take some time to get through. Though, those complaints are few and far-between. This book was easily worth my time listening and recommend it.