Listen free for 30 days

Remember Me

Narrated by: Caryl Jones
Length: 12 hrs and 34 mins
4 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Fifteen years ago Ellen Smith vanished from the woods near her small Welsh village. Never to be seen again.

Eight people were in the woods that night: eight splintered lives, eight people hiding a terrible secret. But who can remember the truth?

Now, Ellen’s best friend, Detective Ava Cole, is all grown up back in the village where it all began, and everyone is asking the same question.

What really happened to Ellen?

Filled with shocking discoveries and traumatic memories, this fast-paced thriller is perfect for fans of Friend Request and Close to Home.

©2019 D. E. White (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A superb psychological crime thriller

I’m a big fan of psychological crime thrillers and this is a fantastic example. It’s a great story with strong characters and full of twists. Who did it? The writing is clever and just as you think you know the killer, something happens and you change your mind. It was well into the story before I worked it out. Probably at the point the author wanted me to.

I read the book and listened to the audio book at the same time which was a first for me. In my mind I had Ava as this kick ass LAPD cop, personally I don’t feel the narrator quite got the toughness of the character but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the story.

Hopefully there’ll be another book from D E White soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

When I first heard about this book I begged the author to let me be on the blog tour as it sounded like such a great book. I was not disappointed.

The book starts off 15 years ago with a group of friends playing in some woods in the Welsh Valleys, before one of the girls vanishes and is never heard from again.

After this prologue we are transported to the current where Ava, one of the girls in the group and the friend of the missing girl, arrives back to the village after spending the years since that fateful night in America, mainly as a LA Cop.

She originally comes back for a different reason, but the past soon catches up with her as people are asking questions about what happened to Ellen back then.

As the book progresses we learn a lot about the past and snippets about what really happened that night, along with learning about all the main characters and their interactions and history.

The chapters alternate between Ava in the present, Ava in the past, and also a mysterious person who is involved in the past and present and is haunting, not only Ava, but the rest of the gang who were in the woods that night.

We are left guessing who this mysterious person is throughout the book until very near the end, with not much being given away about them in the short chapters they are narrating. Even with little to go on I had a hunch who they might be about half way through the book, but there were enough red herrings to make me doubt myself until the end.

All through the book you are drip-fed little bits of information about what actually happened 15 years ago and when the truth finally came out I was shocked by it and absolutely loved it, as I never saw it coming and assumed it was a straight forward thread in the book.

Throughout the book Daisy’s descriptions of the characters and landscape make for an excellent book and kept me hooked throughout.

After reading the book I also purchased the audio book on publication/release day to see how a narrator could change the meanings of the book, and because I love audio books as well.

The narrator did a brilliant job with reading all the Welsh bits, which I skipped when reading, and got the Welsh Valley accents spot on, although at times Ava’s accent went a bit strange, although this could be due to her Welsh/American upbringing.

Overall I thought the book was very well written and the audio book accompanied it perfectly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disappointing

I didn't enjoy this book, in fact I ended up skipping lots of chapters and going to the end to see how it turned out but I was still disappointed and didn't think I'd missed out on anything by skipping most of the book! it was just boring and not well written...perhaps the story was made worse by the awful narration with some very dodgy accents.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ashley
  • 17-03-19

Why isn't this book getting reviews?

This book is everything you would want in a thriller. It's more realistic than most, interesting premise, well fleshed characters... It isn't even on the radar when lesser books are on the best seller list. I'm picky but I think this book flowed, and the beautiful lilt of the Welsh accent is a bonus.
Loved it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Cora
  • 05-03-19

Performance

The hardest thing to get through was the readers horrible “American” accent. She couldn’t decide if she wanted it to be Southern or upper Midwestern. This was so distracting! It would have been better if she has left the pretend accent out of the reading

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • becca wechsler
  • 15-02-19

Predictable

I wasn’t a huge fan. It was an easy listen but predictable ending. I could not stand the narrators voice for some reason!!