Listen free for 30 days

  • Relight My Fire

  • The Stranger Times, Book 4
  • By: C. K. McDonnell
  • Narrated by: Brendan McDonald
  • Length: 14 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (289 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Relight My Fire cover art

Relight My Fire

By: C. K. McDonnell
Narrated by: Brendan McDonald
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Stranger Times cover art
Disaster Inc cover art
A Man with One of Those Faces cover art
The Final Game cover art
The Accidental Medium cover art
Clovenhoof cover art
Welcome to Nowhere cover art
Over My Dead Body cover art
The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax cover art
OverLondon cover art
Sealfinger cover art
The End of the World Is Nigh cover art
The Ward Witch cover art
Oddjobs cover art
The Accidental Alchemist cover art
How to Survive the Afterlife: Books 1-3 cover art

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

STOP PRESS! The Stranger Times wins the 2023 British Fantasy Award for Best Audio Work!

Some comebacks can be murder . . .

Stella is enjoying life as an almost student, or at least she is until a man falls from the sky right in front of her, leaving a big old hole in the pavement for Manchester Council to fill. The obvious question of how he ended up in the sky in the first place has no obvious answers, which is where The Stranger Times come in. This isn't just the hunt for another story though. Dark powers think Stella might have been involved and the only way she and the team can prove her innocence is to find out what the hell is really going on. What have dodgy gear, disturbed graves and a decommissioned rock star got to do with all this?

Vincent Banecroft has problems of his own in the form of a tall, dark but-definitely-not-handsome man dressed like a one-man funeral who has been sent to make the paper's editor atone for his sins. Once he finds out exactly what that entails, Banecroft is not keen. Being banished to a Hellscape for all eternity looks like being no fun at all, not least because he has that pale Irish skin that burns really easily . . .

All that plus territorial ghouls, homicidal felines, eternal (and seemingly unstoppable) gnomes and a celebrity 'Who's Who' that'd put a royal wedding to shame, and you're looking at a wild few days for The Stranger Times.

Relight My Fire is the fourth book in the acclaimed and brilliantly funny Stranger Times series.

©2024 C. K. McDonnell (P)2024 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Relight My Fire

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    263
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    264
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Brilliant

There's one main drawback with these books, they end and you are left feeling like there is a big hole where they used to be. The voice acting is sublime, brilliant in all ways, you forget you are listening to just one man read it, he just brings all the characters to life. Mr McDonald needs to be chained to his desk and made to write these constantly at least 3 a year. Loved it and thank you for such great books, not since Mr Pratchett passed away have I found such enjoyment from a story, long may it continue. BUY People BUY THESE BOOKS!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this!!

absolutely love the writing, humour and pace. i dont to give away spoilers so just buy the books or listen to them all! The narration is the cherry on top. i often walk around day to day with Brendan McDonalds voice narrating. granted its not as funny but itll keep me going till i relisten to the whole series again

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please!

I have loved this world and it's characters since book one, and it has only gotten stronger as the various characters personality evolved.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous story, beautifully told

I’m a big fan of this author’s work (as Caimh or C.K), so I was fully expecting to enjoy this.

And I did!

It’s a gutsy story that hangs together well, it makes great use of established characters, but keep them fresh at the same time.

It’s funny, obviously, but the humour is woven into it, rather than punching out at you, which is how I like it.

Lots of urban fantasy gets the tag ‘for fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams’, and I think authors can work too hard at that. C.K McDonnell doesn’t, and I think that’s why other authors will be delighted to have their books tagged ‘for fans of C.K McDonnell’

These Stranger Times novels are going to be classics of the genre.

The narration is just perfect. Perfect.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Zombitastic

Kept me amused for, well , not very long, as I had to binge-listen. Some real laugh-out- loud moments, great action, great characters and brilliant narration

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth the wait!

I’ve been waiting with bated breath for book 4 - it didn’t disappoint.
A ghoul, fabulous sisters and let’s just say ‘a number of recognisable names’….. what’s not to love?!
Another clever plot line from the genius white haired Irishman, featuring new characters and old favourites, great character development, belly laughs, fabulous silliness and utter escapism into the weird and wonderful world of The Stranger Times. Just brilliant!
I have each of the books in the series on Kindle and Audible. I must say, the narrator and author team are a match made in heaven - a real winning combo.
I was excited to hear that there will be at least another three books in the series and can’t wait for the next instalment….. though I suppose I’ll have to. Sigh….

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stranger times goes from strength to strength

C.K. has really found his stride. I really enjoyed book 1 but fund the language and humor a bit forced at points.

He has discovered the voice of each of the main characters and the story zips along at pace. the stranger times universe is building nicely and I appreciate the rules being built in which need to be followed.

I gave a five star for story and performance, which were both excellent.

however, the editing on my copy was off, especially later on in the story.

in the last hour, everytime the scenario changed, there was a dropout of audio and I missed the first 2 or 3 words of that section. I caught up fairly quickly but it was very off putting.

can this be fixed for future listeners?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

The trouble with starting a Caimh Mcdonell book is that you can’t put it down and once it’s finished you have to wait patiently for the next one! Great story and love the narrator’s voice!
Love Caimh’s sense of humor and imagination,

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just. Great.

Everything you liked about the previous books in the series and more. I really can't praise the book or narration highly enough, it's one of those rare audiobooks where you find yourself trying to find more housework to do so you can keep listening.

There isn't a single one-note, or unlikeable (despite their unlikeable flaws) character here. The extra detail with the coppers in this one works brilliantly, as does the brewing power struggle within the Founders, and the new depth added to the Folk just enriches the world being built here.

As soon as the next one is out, I'm there on day 1.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good tale from the Stranger Times

Nothing good narrator and great listen… look forward to the next episode in the series

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful