Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

Summary

An everyman is targeted for death by a serial killer in this searing high-concept novel that looks at the way that we now live. A twisting, dangerous journey through a digital underworld, it heralds Adam Hamdy as an outstanding new talent. For fans of I Am Pilgrim and John Grisham.

You wake. Confused. Disorientated. A noose is round your neck. You are bound, standing on a chair. All you can focus on is the man in the mask tightening the rope. You are about to die.

John Wallace has no idea why he has been targeted. No idea who his attacker is. No idea how he will prevent the inevitable. Then the pendulum of fate swings in his favour. He has one chance to escape, find the truth and halt his destruction. The momentum is in his favour for now. But with a killer on his tail, everything can change with one swing of this deadly pendulum....

Targeted for death. Then fate intervenes. You have one chance. Run.

©2016 Adam Hamdy (P)2016 Headline Digital

Critic reviews

"I read Pendulum in one gloriously suspenseful weekend. Definitely one of the best thrillers of the year." (James Patterson)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Probably one of the best thriller I've listened to. Great storyline, and clear precise narration

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Edge of your seat gripping! So incredibly well written and a great twist! An absolute must read... can't wait for the next one!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary
  • Surrey, Canada
  • 01-12-17

For the listener or the viewer?

I suspect Adam Hamdy has already made sure that some of the big studios have a copy of this book - and what an easy transition to film it would be as it barely needs any conversion to a screenplay.

Actually it would be quite exciting on the big screen, probably more so than through my litte earphones. All a bit ridiculous. I have listened to a few other books of the same genre but have usually found them more exciting. The explanation was annoying as we had no way to guess.

I think this could have been improved using a different narrator. This one seemed to be doing an audition for the film! For every single part! Too much acting in the delivery of the dialogue - the text makes it very clear that someone is sobbing - so we don't need all the speech to be full of heart-felt sobs. Took away from the listen.

I would like to know why the author chooses to call some people by their surnames, and others by their first name. For the first half of the book it's very clearcut: women are only known by their first names, the men, even the central character, are masculine enough to be surname only...unless they're northern! Then it's just a random choice, very annoying though, we're not all army or male public school types!

One further comment: I suspect the knowledge the author has of the 'North' is nil! It seems that only empty fields and spaces exist. The 'northern' man he goes to see is so typecast, it's like something from the 50s. And he's even - wait for it - building a bloody dry stone wall!

Advice to author: travel around your country; remember and use the first names of your friends, relatives and contacts; either write a book OR a screenplay.

Advice to myself (having just re-read this review): try and be more positive about books you have chosen to continue listening to!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great until the end

This is an excellent story but I felt the end let it down massively. promised much more. I still enjoyed most of it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • anne
  • Bedford, United Kingdom
  • 12-08-17

What a cracker of a book!

Well. That was an experience of a listen. It was sixty chapters long but by the time I git to chapter nineteen I thought it was reaching a climax and should end soon! I couldn't believe it could go on any longer..... but boy was I wrong! The story turned in another direction and powered its way through another whole set of amazing adventures. It ended with a twist that was difficult to see coming and with a question mark over the two main characters that leave an opening for a follow on book. I must look out for it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a story!

Man, I enjoyed this. I usually listen to audiobooks on the walk to work, and get through one a month. I just binged through this, listening to hours of it at a time.
Would definitely recommend

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

This was a great listen which kept me up many nights. I’d recommend. Well written and read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good one

This is a book in two distinct parts, the first set in the UK and the second in the USA. I didn’t see the second half coming and was a bit discombobulated when it suddenly switched from the London police to the FBI. The pace is relentless and it’s a rollercoaster of a plot which swept me along until about the last 45 mins when it seemed to lose its way a bit. Despite that, it’s a great listen and the narration is excellent.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book, well read.

Just couldn't put it down. Great story which kept me coming back for more. Could listen to it again. The way the author managed to quicken the pace then slow it down was done very well.
Will be interesting if there is a follow up to find the second person in the server room.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just great

Considering the length of the book I can say that it kept me on the edge of my seat for at least 90% of the time. Good story line, lots of twists and turns. Very enjoyable.