Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about Part Reptile

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    252
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Salt of the earth dude 🤙🏼

Apart from the narrators questionable pronunciation of certain fighters names, this is my first audio book that had me hook line and sinker!!!
Dans story is fantastic. Real humble guy, for every story he has of greatness he soon knocks himself back down and finds balance in life. Comes across as a real down to earth guy and has a great story to share, get on it 🤘🏼

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I personally really enjoyed this book. A very interesting and relatable life story, full of martial arts and UFC references.

I may be a tad biase in my recommendation of the book however. The heavy martial arts and MMA backdrop may be a bit much for some.
Because I'm a fan of Dan Hardy and mixed martials in general, all the fighters and fights mentioned were instantly familiar to me and the differing perspective quite fascinating.

My only small criticism is that the narrator mispronounces some fighting styles and fighters names on occasion. Like I said though, it's not a big deal and by no means detracted from my enjoyment.
In fairness, most people probably won't even notice.

If you are a fan of MMA, I wholeheartedly recommend giving this a try.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 12-06-17

What a disappointment

I am a Dan Hardy fan. I am a MMA fan. I was at UFC 120 live to see Dan Hardy. I was upset that I couldn't go to waterstones in London to get a signed copy of his book and meet him. I thought the next best thing is to hear Dan read his book himself. What a disappointment it was when I realised that he didn't even narrate his own book. Instead I got someone meant to sound similar and yet has no idea about the world of MMA. I know this because nearly every fighters name he read was mispronounced. I feel bad giving this only 1 star because I want Dan to do well but I feel cheated out of time, money and admiration. You also get nothing from this book that you wouldn't already know from being indifferently aware of his career. It's written as if for someone who has never been exposed to the MMA world and if so why would they be reading it? If your interested in Dan Hardy, save your money and type his name into YouTube. Sorry Dan, hope to see you in the octagon soon.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The man, the fighter, the analyst.

I enjoyed everything overall a good listen throughout. As an mma fan and English born you just have to respect Dan Hardy regardless of what others think.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nottingham's Own

Loved it
Insightful and intriguing views
Having followed Dan's career from way before UFC to now after his departure, evening meeting him multiple times it's a fantastic listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exactly the high level you'd expect from Hardy

Insightful, engaging, thought-provoking and a genuinely enjoyable listen. Left with a deeper understanding of MMA&Hardy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good and easy listen

Really interesting story
very well rounded chapters
very well rounded guy
would definitely recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10/10

Brilliant book finished it within 2 days couldn’t put it down. Interesting to see how Dan came up and got to where he did. True pioneer for British MMA.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great autobiography but I wish Dan had read it!

For me this was a thoroughly engaging autobiography. I felt like I really got to know the heart of Dan Hardy, and having seen him as a fighter live it was a pleasure to hear the story.

In a world that is so structured and driven by rules it was also amazing to hear about his experiences with psychedelics and how he felt that they really developed him not just as as a fighter but as a person.

For an MMA fan this is a great book - however I would suggest that you would need to be a fan of MMA or the UFC.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book

An amazing book which highlights highs and lows of his wild career and shows his growth in personality

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-03-20

True Martial Artist!

Great man ! Great story ! One of best mma bios I’ve ever listened to . Highly recommend !!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Searles
  • Robert Searles
  • 16-02-20

Very good story

Would have given 5 stars but a bit to much time was given to substance use in one chapter. But still not to bad

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ML
  • ML
  • 02-04-19

Insightful memoir of fighter philosopher

Dan Hardy tells about growing up, finding his place in the world and what fighting is really about. It wasn't what I thought it was. Some people are born fighters and they can't help it, like Dan. They just don't have a normal fear of fighting.

Dan started with taekwondo as a kid. He traveled and trained with completely different martial arts schools, even under Shaolin monks in China. He learned methods of psyching out opponents, and this made him especially interesting as a UFC fighter.

Hardy was diagnosed with a heart problem that made him ineligible to continue fighting in the UFC, but they kept him on as a commentator. He pushes boundaries even in this role.

I didn't know a professional fighter had to be a serious thinker, but I now see it that way because of this book.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alan ALcock
  • Alan ALcock
  • 10-10-17

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.