Listen free for 30 days

Part Reptile

UFC, MMA and Me
By: Dan Hardy
Narrated by: Dan Hardy, Simon Bubb
Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (155 ratings)

Regular price: £19.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Salt of the earth dude 🤙🏼

Apart from the narrators questionable pronunciation of certain fighters names, this is my first audio book that had me hook line and sinker!!!
Dans story is fantastic. Real humble guy, for every story he has of greatness he soon knocks himself back down and finds balance in life. Comes across as a real down to earth guy and has a great story to share, get on it 🤘🏼

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I personally really enjoyed this book. A very interesting and relatable life story, full of martial arts and UFC references.

I may be a tad biase in my recommendation of the book however. The heavy martial arts and MMA backdrop may be a bit much for some.
Because I'm a fan of Dan Hardy and mixed martials in general, all the fighters and fights mentioned were instantly familiar to me and the differing perspective quite fascinating.

My only small criticism is that the narrator mispronounces some fighting styles and fighters names on occasion. Like I said though, it's not a big deal and by no means detracted from my enjoyment.
In fairness, most people probably won't even notice.

If you are a fan of MMA, I wholeheartedly recommend giving this a try.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 12-06-17

What a disappointment

I am a Dan Hardy fan. I am a MMA fan. I was at UFC 120 live to see Dan Hardy. I was upset that I couldn't go to waterstones in London to get a signed copy of his book and meet him. I thought the next best thing is to hear Dan read his book himself. What a disappointment it was when I realised that he didn't even narrate his own book. Instead I got someone meant to sound similar and yet has no idea about the world of MMA. I know this because nearly every fighters name he read was mispronounced. I feel bad giving this only 1 star because I want Dan to do well but I feel cheated out of time, money and admiration. You also get nothing from this book that you wouldn't already know from being indifferently aware of his career. It's written as if for someone who has never been exposed to the MMA world and if so why would they be reading it? If your interested in Dan Hardy, save your money and type his name into YouTube. Sorry Dan, hope to see you in the octagon soon.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In depth details in Dan Hardys life

Liked this Book as gave a depth outline about Dan Hardys start up from being a Martial Artist to an MMA fighter. Also along the journey story about hard paths to overcome and what life teached him and path he follows now after his end in his fighting career.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic book!

A really interesting look at Dan Hardy's life, a nice mix of personal and professional, highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dale Hardiman

A fascinating dive deep into the brain of one of MMAs greatest minds and personalities.

Loved every minute!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

a very good listen, a balance of emotion,thought and fighting, Dan seems to have lived a rich life of experience

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

decent story, but lost me a bit going full hippie

I really liked the story, but there was a bit too much hippie nonsense at the end and pseudo psychological mumbo-jumbo

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

interesting background to mma

loved it interesting listen to the way mam was /is run and the physic to a man who was involved.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great stories and analysis. Performance is eh.

Really enjoyed the book. Some great stories and messages in there about life. Some great MMA analysis also. The reader is a bit eh. Some chapters felt much more slow than others and the pronunciation of a lot of key names is off.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lee Ward
  • 02-04-19

Insightful memoir of fighter philosopher

Dan Hardy tells about growing up, finding his place in the world and what fighting is really about. It wasn't what I thought it was. Some people are born fighters and they can't help it, like Dan. They just don't have a normal fear of fighting.

Dan started with taekwondo as a kid. He traveled and trained with completely different martial arts schools, even under Shaolin monks in China. He learned methods of psyching out opponents, and this made him especially interesting as a UFC fighter.

Hardy was diagnosed with a heart problem that made him ineligible to continue fighting in the UFC, but they kept him on as a commentator. He pushes boundaries even in this role.

I didn't know a professional fighter had to be a serious thinker, but I now see it that way because of this book.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alan ALcock
  • 10-10-17

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.