Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Lies, spies, film stars, and murder.

New Year’s Eve, 1921

Posie has been asked to accompany Inspector Richard Lovelace of Scotland Yard on an undercover mission. Their destination is a glittering New Year’s Eve party at Maypole Manor, the clifftop home of Lord Robin Glaysayer. Among the 12 guests are a famous film star, an artist, an Italian nobleman, a government spy, and a clairvoyant.

With a blizzard raging outside, when a killer strikes, the Inspector and Posie’s skills are tested to breaking point as they try to find the murderer before he attacks again.

But danger lurks at every corner: just who exactly is the mysterious 13th house guest? Why is Posie being singled out for special attention?

And will she ever see Alaric Boynton-Dale ever again?

This is a classic Golden Age of Crime murder mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. Murder at Maypole Manor is the third book in the delightfully classic Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, get Murder at Maypole Manor now.

Other books by L.B. Hathaway available on Amazon:

  • Murder Offstage: A Posie Parker Mystery #1
  • The Tomb of the Honey Bee: A Posie Parker Mystery #2
  • The Vanishing of Dr Winter: A Posie Parker Mystery #4
  • Murder of a Movie Star: A Posie Parker Mystery #5

To be the first to hear about L.B. Hathaway's new releases sign up for the newsletter.

©2016 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

What listeners say about Murder at Maypole Manor

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best yet

The best book yet talking enthralling cannot wait to the next book The books just get better and better

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant performance of a gripping story

This story is wonderfully performed by Clare Wille and takes so many twists and turns it is hard to keep up at times. An excellent addition to the Posie Parker mysteries.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good!

Another great audiobook from the same author and narrator. Particularly liked how much was going on in this story! Looking forward for next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a good book

This was so well read and enjoyable story that I look forward to hearing the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shannon
  • Shannon
  • 20-02-20

Pretty Good

Decent cozy mystery set in my favorite time period. I enjoyed it for the most part. Just a few minor annoying repeated sayings like “as sure as bread is bread” and “Posey was about to tell the inspector when...” something happens to stop it, took me out of the narrative. Feels like one last edit would have made the story more enjoyable.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mustangally
  • Mustangally
  • 01-08-20

Definitely Not the Series for Me

I enjoy reading cozy series, so I get a chance to get acquainted with the main characters and relax into them. I really wanted to enjoy Posie Parker but I almost ended up hating her by the end of this book. I wanted to quit after the first few chapters but I slogged through until the end, and I wish I hadn't.

Nothing is more annoying to me than an author who doesn't bother to stick accurately to the era in which she is writing. It's so jarring to listen to a book like this, set in the 1920s, where the author uses contemporary slang like "hugely" and "control freak" and "mantra". It completely ruins it. Also, she uses aphorisms or slang phrases so often, I thought about starting a drinking game where I'd take a swig every time she used the phrase "Sure as bread is bread". (What does that mean, anyway?!) But I would have gotten quite drunk as I lost count after 9 - NINE - times she used that phrase in this one book. "Guts for garters" was another one, but really, I stopped counting after awhile, just so I could get through the darn book.

The story line seemed contrived and didn't seem believable, but that could have been because I was annoyed by the writing.

On a better note, the performance was great.

No more Posie Parker for me. Good riddance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Lo
  • Karen Lo
  • 29-03-20

It’s ok

I want to like the Posie Parker series, but I can’t, quite. I listened to The Tomb of the Honeybees and Murder at Maypole Manor. Not bad, but not for me. The plots are too layered and don’t link together believably. Too much of a good thing, my attention wanders and I stop caring what happens to whom. The unlikable characters are better developed than the potentially likable ones. Posie herself is inconsistent, I can’t figure out why anyone is attracted to her. I want to like her, I just can’t find enough substance and personality to hang onto.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Conover
  • Linda Conover
  • 17-03-20

Good, needs pruning

Over all good but could use more editing. Several phrases are very repetitious through the entire story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 17-01-20

What An Absolute treat..!!.. Audible, please acquire the rest of the series

What an absolute delight... loved it from start to finish,.. I noticed you have the next book already available,.. but she refers quite a lot to her past travails in her previous books ,so I’m hoping Audible,.. you will get those too..highly recommend it to cozy readers..

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fi
  • Fi
  • 21-04-20

Loved it.

Really enjoyed It. An intricate and intriguing story. So many ups and downs. Good characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Connie Kraus
  • Connie Kraus
  • 24-03-20

It kept me "turning the pages" so to speak.

The plot had twists and turns but not those aggravating hidden ones. Plenty of back stories and interesting characters, which I hope to see I. future books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annc
  • annc
  • 25-01-20

Good narttor

The reader is excellent but the story for tedious towards the end of the book. Not on my list of must haves.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 05-03-21

Too complicated. I couldn’t keep up with the plot

This installment seemed very different from the first two. The tone of the book was quite dark. I was unable to find any credible romantic subplot. I am quite sure that I haven’t listened to this book before, but some elements of the plot seemed oddly familiar . I finally abandoned it with more than 2 hours left...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robin P  Mayer
  • Robin P Mayer
  • 20-10-20

maypole ma nor

loved it. the storyline kept you wondering who really was the bad person. all kinds of twists. great book listen or read. love the cliffhanger at end.