Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Hidden cover art

Hidden

By: Lisa Sell
Narrated by: Melanie Crawley
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

For the Love of Liverpool cover art
The Judas Tree cover art
My Daughter's Secrets cover art
The Wedding Night cover art
In Servitude cover art
A Funeral for an Owl cover art
Quicksand of Memory cover art
One of Us cover art
The House on the Water's Edge cover art
The Optician's Wife cover art
The Rome Apartment cover art
No Safe Place cover art
We Are Family cover art
The Fall and Rise of Sadie McQueen cover art
The Mother I Could Have Been cover art
Black Heart cover art

Summary

Lisa Sell's Hidden is a crime thriller which you won't be able to stop listening to; it's perfect for listeners who enjoy books like Claire McGowan's What You Did and C.L. Taylor's Sleep, as well as for fans of authors like Louise Jensen, Rachel Abbott and Heidi Perks.

Jen Taylor has a secret. In 1987, the body of 14-year-old Kelly was found on a railway track, and Jen believes she was responsible for her death. Now an adult, Jen is approached by Kelly’s mother, who asks her to help investigate her daughter’s murder. But Jen is hiding more than anyone knows.

As the investigation is reopened by Jen along with her former friend Claire, secrets from the past come to light, and when another murder takes place, the case takes a sinister turn.

Did Jen really kill Kelly, and can she ever right the wrongs of the past?

©2019 Lisa Sell (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Hidden

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping family drama

I really liked the book. often I get confused with alternative timelines but it worked in this case. The characters were great and the setting of a council estate in the 80s was very realistic. It shows the damage abuse can cause through the generations. It's very sad that Kelly was let down by so many people and it sadly feels very realistic. The only thing was I wasn't entirely sure that I bought the identity of the killer, I had not suspected the person but it may have been because I was listening through audiobook while doing other things. I will be looking out for more by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Selected as a free listen. Story kept in interested

Couldn't get interested at first but persevered and wanted to know what had happened. Would try another by the Author

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Confused who's who

Way too many characters all from different times - I'm completely lost! Maybe easier to follow as a physical book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Complex but worth sticking with

Requires a level of concentration as it flits about between years and there are a lot of well rounded characters. Enjoyable with great music references

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

The narration was excellent. The story was good with a great twist, however I felt it dragged a little.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Guess who

excellent story that kept me guessing and guessing again. Such a lot of twists and turns.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very Long Winded

I did enjoy this but felt it went on far too long, too many characters in the beginning to keep track of who was who but the ending was good and it was free!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

Good story with twists and turns. Oh the joy of council estates loyalty and avoiding the obvious whilst growing resilience

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Easy to listen to and interesting enough

I got this as a free book to have something to listen to while i was working.
There’s a lot of 80’s references that i am a bit too young for, but enjoyed nonetheless. The pacing is weird and there’s too many coincidences to tie up loose ends. So much of the plot relies on people not speaking up for literally decades for seemingly no reason.
That said, it is interesting enough and i listened all the way to the end. i probably wouldn’t recommend this book, but i didn’t not enjoy listening to it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Actually really good!

Actually a really good listen! I didn't guess who did it ...I thought I saw it coming but I was wrong! This kept me at the edge of my headphones ....so to speak! haha... Also...weirdly nostalgic with relatable characters...if you grew up even vaguely poor in the 80s. Very 'real' in that sense so another reason I was easily invested in this book. What a great find!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!