Listen free for 30 days

Found

Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (157 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A missing child returns. But who took him?

BBC Radio 2 Book Club choice 2019.

Sunday Times Crime Club pick.

When 11 year old, Evan, vanishes without trace, his parents are plunged into their worst nightmare.   

Especially as the police, under massive pressure, have no answers. But months later, Evan is unexpectedly found, frightened, and refusing to speak. His loving family realise life will never be the same again.   

DI Naylor knows that unless those who took Evan are caught, other children are in danger. And with Evan silent, she must race against time to find those responsible....

A gripping, heart-wrenching thriller, with the emotional power of series like Broadchurch and The Missing, this is the perfect read for fans of Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks, Claire Douglas, Fiona Barton, Susan Lewis and Nuala Ellwood

©2019 Erin Kinsley (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"This is brilliant, utterly compelling, heart-wrenching writing. I was gripped and loved it." (Peter James, Sunday Times best seller)

 "An unputdownable thriller. The characters and events will stay with you for a very long time." (Elly Griffiths, Sunday Times best seller) 

"One of those rare finds - a page turner that is equally remarkable for the beauty of the writing. It will suck you in and take you on a journey." (Jo Spain, international best seller)

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling

This book was not the police procedural I expected to read. Yes, there is a police procedural side to it, but it is so much more. It is the story of Evan and his family and how they cope with the terrible thing that happened to them.

Erin Kinsley describes the different relationships so realistically. There is the relationship between Rachel, who goes to pieces when her son goes missing, and her husband, and how their marriage is falling apart and they are leading separate lives. I absolutely loved the beautiful relationship between Evan and his grandfather, who helped Evan to recover from his horrific ordeal with love, patience and understanding. I have to admit to shedding a few tears.

The book deals with a very difficult subject, but does so sensitively. We are not told any of the details of what Evan went through, although that doesn't make it any less disturbing.

Found is a real page-turner and deserves it's 5 stars.

Lucy Paterson does a great job with the narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It just doesn’t work

I am surprised by all the excellent reviews. Yes the relationship with his grandpa is lovely but that’s about all I can praise in this story. The other characters weren’t painted well, I had no feel for them. The author chose to spend too much time on banal conversations between various police officers, some of which is toe curlingly cheesy. It felt a bit like an audio transcript of The Bill.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening

This book kept me griped , I cried a lot listening to it but I have to say it was very well written

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written story

Beautifully written looking at the emotions thoughts and practicality of close family dealing with abusive events that have affected a young boy who they all love

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping - loved this book !!

Absolutely loved this book in fact searched for more from the same author before I'd finished it.
The narrator was exceptional she made it come to life, Jack and Dora's characters came to life and their love and kindness made me wish they were my Grandparents !
So so descriptive the pain and grief were truly felt throughout the story.
Please hurry with your next book !,

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping Absolutely gripping, but terrifying.. .

I'm picky about books, bt this had me by the throat from the start. I'd hate to have children. After reading this I'd never let them out of my sight. So much horrific detail, but you don't notice because it's so well written. I was two hours in before I was looking to see if she'd written anymore and my heart dropped when I found out this was her first and I'll be watching like a hawk for more.

I don't want to write anymore because I'd hate to accidentally put in a spoiler, but if you buy any book this year, make it this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I’ve listed to in ages!!

This book gripped me from the start to the end! Can’t wait for the next book!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Story line somewhat disappointing. Good writer? - not really; tries way too hard to sound lyrical - I mean, do we really need descriptive detail about what was on top of the fridge?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the sleep loss

A fabulous well book, the characters were perfect. I felt as though I living the pain and joy. Although the reality is Frightening the book was informative, without any gore. If you only read one book this and you like drama,this is your book. 5 stars.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping story. Beautifully drawn characters <br /><br />

So glad I read this book. characters are believable and story is compelling. I would recommend this book