Listen free for 30 days

Found

Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (886 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A missing child returns. But who took him?

BBC Radio 2 Book Club choice 2019.

Sunday Times Crime Club pick.

When 11 year old, Evan, vanishes without trace, his parents are plunged into their worst nightmare.   

Especially as the police, under massive pressure, have no answers. But months later, Evan is unexpectedly found, frightened, and refusing to speak. His loving family realise life will never be the same again.   

DI Naylor knows that unless those who took Evan are caught, other children are in danger. And with Evan silent, she must race against time to find those responsible....

A gripping, heart-wrenching thriller, with the emotional power of series like Broadchurch and The Missing, this is the perfect read for fans of Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks, Claire Douglas, Fiona Barton, Susan Lewis and Nuala Ellwood

©2019 Erin Kinsley (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"This is brilliant, utterly compelling, heart-wrenching writing. I was gripped and loved it." (Peter James, Sunday Times best seller)

 "An unputdownable thriller. The characters and events will stay with you for a very long time." (Elly Griffiths, Sunday Times best seller) 

"One of those rare finds - a page turner that is equally remarkable for the beauty of the writing. It will suck you in and take you on a journey." (Jo Spain, international best seller)

What listeners say about Found

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    527
  • 4 Stars
    230
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    537
  • 4 Stars
    181
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    466
  • 4 Stars
    178
  • 3 Stars
    96
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling

This book was not the police procedural I expected to read. Yes, there is a police procedural side to it, but it is so much more. It is the story of Evan and his family and how they cope with the terrible thing that happened to them. Erin Kinsley describes the different relationships so realistically. There is the relationship between Rachel, who goes to pieces when her son goes missing, and her husband, and how their marriage is falling apart and they are leading separate lives. I absolutely loved the beautiful relationship between Evan and his grandfather, who helped Evan to recover from his horrific ordeal with love, patience and understanding. I have to admit to shedding a few tears. The book deals with a very difficult subject, but does so sensitively. We are not told any of the details of what Evan went through, although that doesn't make it any less disturbing. Found is a real page-turner and deserves it's 5 stars. Lucy Paterson does a great job with the narration.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

couldn't put it down

Loved it, great story, difficult subject sympathetically written, great narration. will read more of her books

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It just doesn’t work

I am surprised by all the excellent reviews. Yes the relationship with his grandpa is lovely but that’s about all I can praise in this story. The other characters weren’t painted well, I had no feel for them. The author chose to spend too much time on banal conversations between various police officers, some of which is toe curlingly cheesy. It felt a bit like an audio transcript of The Bill.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This book felt like I was listening to the news

I really didn’t like this book. It felt light listening to a series of news reports. There were no characters to get attached to root for. Save yourself the tedium and choose another book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

trauma and investigation of child kidnapping

Well written story of a kidnapped child, 11 year old Evan, who is discovered several months later, hundreds of miles from his home. He is too traumatised to talk about it, but the Police know they will need his help if they are to save a second child who has gone missing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

promising story that ran out of steam

started off promising but I felt it ran out of steam and fizzled out towards the end. Not a bad read but not a great one. Focused more on the relationships between the characters - which was quite moving at times - than the crime.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good idea but no fleshed out enough

I found this book a bit strange. The author seemed to try and do too much but ended up with too little of everything. With very little taking in the books. The narrator was very up and down and the tone of voice seemed too positive for the situation. The characters were not developed enough I have no idea what they look like as there was very little description. It focused more on the emotions but gave random details without delving into who the characters are and more documented their journey. The police sections were quite frustrating and I found it difficult to remember who was who. I also can't say who the main character is. it got better towards the end but I had to force myself to continue listening. it had a lot of potential as it is an interesting story it just wasn't fleshed out enough. The most annoying part was the fact that it gave dates but didn't tell you how long it had been since the kidnapping or after the finding, so I had no idea how long had passed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

can't wait for the next book!

this had me glued! I went through every emotion and really felt for the characters. Perfectly narrated. Paterson gave the characters a real personality and neither sounded the same (unlike most readers). Beautifully written. I really cannot wait for the next book from Erin Kinsley!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointingly Linear

I too am surprised by all the raving reviews of this book. I found it very slow and kept expecting a sudden twist to unravel but it appears this was only wishful thinking. There were no twists or surprise revelations. In fact everything turns out exactly as you expect it to. With only one or two suspects ever introduced for the abduction it isn’t at all a surprise as to ‘who.’ The story also doesn’t focus on the ‘what,’ as the details of the abduction and abuse aren’t discussed. Perhaps this is an attempt at handling the subject with sensitivity, yet it came across more as nervous avoidance. So all that’s left really is a very linear, if heartwarming, tale of a boy following his abduction. I would suggest this isn’t the book for anyone seeking a gripping crime thriller full or twists and turns as you’ll be left disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You will become engrossed in this story!

A really enjoyable book, dealing with what would be any parents worst nightmare. Definitely would recommend it