Listen free for 30 days

Ferney

Narrated by: Tim Bruce
Length: 14 hrs and 40 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

One of the most brilliant timeslip novels ever written, Ferney will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and Life After Life.

When Mike and Gally Martin move to a cottage in Somerset, it's to make a new start. But the relationship comes under strain when Gally forms an increasingly close attachment to an old countryman, Ferney, who seems to know everything about her.

What is it that draws them together? Reluctantly at first, then with more urgency as he feels time slipping away, Ferney compels Gally to understand their connection - and to face an inexplicable truth about their shared past.

©2015 James Long (P)2016 Simon & Schuster Audio UK

More from the same

What listeners say about Ferney

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gets under your skin

I read this book years ago & the story stayed with me, I forgot the title & authors name over the years, on discovering audio books, I set about trying to find it, putting all sorts of descriptions into google, I was so happy I found it, I can honestly say it’s the best book I’ve ever read & listened to & will listen to again, after reading the follow up book, “The lives she left behind”, which arrives tomorrow & will buy the audio once it’s been verbally told. Beautiful story telling in all it’s forms.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely beautiful story of love spanning over many lifetimes

Have just finished for the second time, beautifully written and wonderfully narrated story set in a mystical part of the country Somerset

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An exquisite recording of an extraordinary book

Eleven out of ten, the narrator brings real character to the world of Ferney through the words of a truly underrated author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my "Desert Island" books performed well

One of my all time favourite books, performed very well. It was even more engrossing to listen to than to read. Please let's have the sequel "The Lives She Left Behind" so that we can find out what happens next