Listen free for 30 days

Dream On

Dale Conley Action Thrillers Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Adam Verner
Length: 5 hrs and 45 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A brutal killer. A shocking theory. And a growing death count.

Special agent Dale Conley is going out of his mind. He wants to catch this murderer so bad it hurts - because he’s never seen such gruesome crime scenes....

As a serial killer continues his vicious slayings, Dale scrambles to uncover the connection between the victims. Dale discovers that the deaths are related to a controversial theory, one so astonishing that it threatens to undermine the foundations of society. If Dale is going to stop the bloodshed, he’ll have to confront not only a ruthless enemy but also explosive ideas that could tear the world apart.

Dream On is the second book in the Dale Conley Action Thrillers Series.

If you like fast-paced action, sinister conspiracies, and loads of humor, then you’ll love this pause-resisting series, perfect for readers of Lee Child and Dan Brown and for fans of the Indiana Jones and James Bond movies.

Buy Dream On to begin the Dale Conley adventure today!

©2018 Erik Carter (P)2018 Erik Carter

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional action thriller!

I really enjoyed this Dale Conley installment.
This was the first time I've listened to a Dale Conley thriller, and the first time I've come across Erik Carter. After experiencing this very exciting, edge of the seat action story I'll be on the lookout for more from the series.

Conley is someone the authorities bring in when cases are a little different. He's an expert in crimes with a historical /religious theme, and in this particular case, someone is carrying out killings relating to a controversial theory - dating back thousands of years.

I've been looking for similar books to that of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, etc, and I think I've just found them!
Very well narrated by Adam Verner
Recommended.

I was given this copy for free, in return for an honest review.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not everything fits into charts.

BEI Agent Dale Conley is assigned unusual cases with an historic theme. Always previously working with an FBI agent, this time he finds himself reluctantly partnered by a civilian, a psychologist who specialises in serial killings. From the start, their relationship is an uncomfortable one: she has no training, has never handled a gun or even seen a dead body before the one she views with him - and this is the person who is supposed to supply his back up. Plus the case is a nasty one: two murders already, both gruesome knife killings, of men known for their avowed atheistic views, yet both have exhibited Christian connections with their deaths. There is obviously a connection but what? And why were they targeted?

This is an exciting and well written thriller with an intriguing plot which becomes increasingly sinister as the story progresses. Characterisation is excellent, especially of Dale himself, who is superficially flippant, sarcastic and sometimes immature, but these are mostly part of the armour he needs to protect himself in his difficult work. Narrator, Adam Verner again captures his personality well and also breathes additional life into the other protagonists with individual voicings. His is a pleasant, well paced presentation although there is just a tad too much whimsy in the timbre of his reading at times. But this is occasional and in no way deminishes his very accomplished performance.

Starting with an amazing ten plus minute foot chase through a busy shopping centre and ending on a quiet note of more thoughtful introspection, this is a really enjoyable action packed mystery thriller with a difference. I am indebted to the rights holder of Dream On for freely gifting me a complimentary copy, at my request, via Audiobook Boom. Thank you. I enjoyed it immensely and recommended it to all readers who like the more quirky thrills of crime investigation, especially those with an historic bias and strong, interesting characters.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simone
  • Simone
  • 05-09-19

Really Fun

Action packed, thriller 'Dream On' was fun from top to bottom. I hadn't listened to the first book in the series and had no issues following this one! This is just a well rounded action thriller with a solid premise, well written characters, great pacing, unexpected twists and more. Adam Verner does justice to the narration and delivers a fantastic performance. I'd recommend this one to any friends who enjoy action thrillers!

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dee
  • Dee
  • 15-10-18

Disturbing but good

This Conley book two is an exercise in storytelling. Who else can combine a story that involves atheists, deception, religious history, Latin, and a serial killer? It was quite simply, brilliant.

I absolutely love Dale Conley. He's everything you want in a man, not just a male lead character. He's brilliant and flawed with a killer sense of humor. This particular mystery nearly did him in though.

The narration is stellar!! This book is non-stop action and the narrator helps to keep the excitement level high. His portrayal of Dale is one of the reasons why I enjoy this series so much.

If you haven't listened to book one, don't worry; this book is a great standalone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victoria Haugen
  • Victoria Haugen
  • 10-10-18

AWESOME SAUCE!

OK, for the record, I NEVER say Awesome Sauce LOL!
This audiobook is definitely filled with action, conspiracies and humor!

This book (and the first, those are the two I've listened to so far) is AWESOME!
Tons of fun, wildly interesting, and it keeps you entertained throughout.

I'm hoping to get my hands on the third in the series before I go insane, NEED MORE! I'm like an audiobook zombie :)
Pardon my weirdness, just GET THE BOOK :) :)

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.
Please take a moment to click the "YES" ("Helpful") button below if you found this review helpful :) Thank you!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rayc
  • Rayc
  • 22-09-18

A great listen/read

Dream On: Dale Conley Action Thrillers Series, Book 2.
Fast paced, full of action. Strong storyline and great characters.
Adam Verner's narration is excellent and really brings this story to life.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Patterson
  • Susan Patterson
  • 20-09-18

Riveting!

Tense. Great premise for a novel.

Adam Verner, narrator, has a hypnotic voice that keeps you spellbound!

I was provided this audiobook at no charge by the author, narrator or publisher in exchange for an unbiased review via audiobookboom com.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TU
  • TU
  • 19-09-18

Great 2nd book

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was a great follow up to the first book. The books seem to be able to stand alone, so no worries if you're just now joining us. The narration continues to be great and the story is just as thrilling as the first one. Definitely worth picking up if you like these type of stories.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aimee Greene
  • Aimee Greene
  • 04-09-18

Great story, engaging and intersting

I enjoyed listening to this book, it kept me interesting the whole time and I plan on going back and listening to Book 1. I was gifted this book in exchange for an honest review.