Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £20.89

Buy Now for £20.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It was the holiday of a lifetime - a chance for Eve Hardaway to rediscover herself following the break-up of her marriage - until Eve catches a glimpse of someone she should never have seen. She was not the first to do so. But a woman who previously laid eyes on this mysterious stranger has disappeared without trace. Soon Eve and her travelling companions look set to suffer the same fate. Then a storm cuts off their remote jungle camp from the outside world. And Eve knows that if she is ever going to see her young son again, she will be forced to find reserves of courage and resourcefulness she never dreamt she possessed - or die trying.

With great pace and pitch-perfect characterisation, Gregg Hurwitz ratchets up the tension in Don't Look Back. Fans of Harlan Coben and Simon Kernick will be hooked from the word go.

Gregg Hurwitz is the internationally best-selling author of You're Next, Or She Dies, We Know and I See You. A graduate of Harvard and Oxford Universities, he lives with his family in California, where he writes screenplays, television and comics, including Batman and Wolverine.

©2014 Gregg Hurwitz (P)2014 W F Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"Thrilling...Hurwitz skilfully ratchets up the tension as his characters prove their mettle through nerve-wracking and exciting trials." (Publishers Weekly)

"Hurwitz never disappoints and with Don't Look Back he takes his storytelling talents to new heights of suspense and terror.... From the opening moment of tension to the singularly terrifying final act, this story of survival and death left me breathless." (James Rollins)

What listeners say about Don't Look Back

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    117
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but not his best

I love this writers work and have waited with baited breath for his latest release. Sadly it was not his best book. Greg Hurwitz writes for TV and I think this would have made an excellent drama. but as a book, it lost some of the impact that could have been very effective visually. The narration was good but it still seemed to go on too long as a written piece. I will still wait eagerly for Greg Hurwitz next book!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Seemed to go on forever

Didn't really enjoy this book, it started ok but I struggled with the story after a while. I've enjoyed other books by this author but unfortunately this wasn't one of them.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

cannot understand high review ratings

I checked out the reviews on Amazon before ordering,and as I have previously enjoyed books by this author took the plunge.
I am sorely disappointed, the story could have been fine, a little over the top, but ok! However, the element of Muslim terrorism somehow managed to jump into the story for no apparent reason. Frankly I don't know whether I will be able to finish this book, it is way too daft and over the top, and frankly unpleasant!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I find Gregg Hurwitz a little hit and miss but this really held my interest.

Slightly (!) implausible for huge chunks of the story but then fiction is allowed to be. A rollercoaster listen, likeable characters and well narrated.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not his best

In my opinion not one of his best books. it seemed a little far fetched in some parts and every possible catastrophe befell this group and the lead character, trials of a Mexican jungle, Islamic terrorist, man eating ants, crocodiles, flesh burning plants, tropical storms, collapsed bridges and no communications! Who would go to the jungle on holiday in the tropical storm season?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pulse raising

Excellent book. It would make a great film but won’t send you off to sleep as so much happening so better as an afternoon read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Great for insomnia

I love the Orphan X books. This is by Greg H on a bad day! WAY too much boring detail, full of ridiculous coincidences, and as for the baddie - oh give me a break! I got bored with ticking off the stereotypes.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed - and this from a loyal fan

Started well. But then got dragged into the popular narrative of the illiterates as how Islam is a terrorist religion, and through the miserable loner's thoughts, trying to propogate the point. Very disappointing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining.

I don't think the narrator was well matched to the story. She's not bad at all, but an odd choice for a thriller I felt. She reminded me of some of the children's books my kids have listened to. It downplayed the intensity of the story and felt in conflict with what the author was trying to convey in many parts. But the story was good and kept me entertained.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant book

wasn't sure at first because of the review but really loved it. Very unpredictable. Was never sure what was going to happen next. Well written. felt like I knew all the different characters. Felt like I was there in the jungle

1 person found this helpful