Listen free for 30 days

Crustaceans

Narrated by: James Conlan
Length: 4 hrs and 22 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From Scottish writer William Meikle comes a novel that is a welcome return to those tomes of pure enjoyment that we read with guilt in our early teens, in the tradition of James Herbert's The Rats and Guy N. Smith's Night of the Crabs.

It begins with a dead whale on a Boston shoreline - not in itself an unusual occurrence. But the things that claw their way out of the blubber are very unusual indeed. A cast of giant crabs, evolved over centuries, descends on a small coastal town and, having feasted, make their way to the city using the sewer system. Soon they are swarming around Manhattan, hunted and harried by a SWAT team tasked with ridding the city of the menace...before the menace gets big enough to rid itself of the city.

©2014 William Meikle (P)2014 Gryphonwood Press

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Killer crabs, what more do you want?

If you are looking for a story featuring massive killer crabs, well, look no further!
It’s a enjoyable creature feature romp! Narration is on point.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping Tale of Terror

If you could sum up Crustaceans in three words, what would they be?

Fan Bloody Tastic

What other book might you compare Crustaceans to, and why?

Guy N. Smiths Night of the Crabs and Killer Crabs.

Have you listened to any of James Conlan’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Not Before but will again if I can find somthing of a similar kind

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes if I had all the time it took to listen 4hrs 21 mins but I did it in several parts.

Any additional comments?

Very Cleverly written and well read. Gripping from first breath to last Sigh.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bill
  • Bill
  • 14-04-20

An 80's style B-Movie creature feature romp.

Crabs are creepy. Like spiders with a hard shell. It would suck to get tore up and eaten by a crab. Conversely, they themselves, are quite delicious. Probably not these crabs though, since their bellies are full of human flesh.

An 80's style B-Movie creature feature romp.

Clickety clack!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Karowski
  • Mary Karowski
  • 12-02-20

What better to listen to while walking around seaworld?

Listened to this while walking around seaworld with my grandson. Perfect story to listen to. Without a doubt this would make a wonderful sci-fi channel original movie. Totally cheesy greatness. Giant mutated crabs (which have apparently attacked the other areas before) have now struck the east coast. They have developed a hunger for human flesh and seek it out. If you can hear the click clack of their claws it’s already too late. I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator or publisher