Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Sixth Extinction, an urgent, meticulously researched, and groundbreaking book about the ways in which chemicals in the modern environment are changing - and endangering - human sexuality and fertility on the grandest scale, from renowned epidemiologist Shanna Swan.

In 2017, author Shanna Swan and her team of researchers completed a major study. They found that over the past four decades, sperm levels among men in Western countries have dropped by more than 50 percent. They came to this conclusion after examining 185 studies involving close to 45,000 healthy men. The result sent shockwaves around the globe - but the story didn’t end there. It turns out our sexual development is changing in broader ways, for both men and women and even other species, and that the modern world is on pace to become an infertile one. 

How and why could this happen? What is hijacking our fertility and our health? Count Down unpacks these questions, revealing what Swan and other researchers have learned about how both lifestyle and chemical exposures are affecting our fertility, sexual development - potentially including the increase in gender fluidity - and general health as a species. Engagingly explaining the science and repercussions of these worldwide threats and providing simple and practical guidelines for effectively avoiding chemical goods (from water bottles to shaving cream) both as individuals and societies, Count Down is at once an urgent wake-up call, an illuminating listen, and a vital tool for the protection of our future.

©2020 Shanna H. Swan. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Count Down

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Illuminating

I finished this book in one day. I was hooked from start to finish. shocked by each fact. The truth hurts. Are modern world and living habits. The chemicals we use in are everyday life. pump into the air and sea. Altering are DND and hormones.
The world is in flux. The future of the human race. Is on the line like never before.

This book explains situation. In great detail. The hard steps that must be taken to prevent are extinction.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tom
  • Tom
  • 28-02-21

Interesting, eyeopening and direct science.

Swan makes a solid case for the inevitable decline in reproductive rate - around the globe. From humans to the environment this review spans several angles of a complex problem and makes them relatable to the average reader. Some scientific or psychological knowledge is recommended to really understand the limits and implications of the studies used. Overall, a solid take-away on living clean for a soon-to-be parent.