Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Wendy doesn't mean to kill Dina, the energy therapy practitioner who recruited her to an allergy study. She's not even sure how it happened. How could something as silly as hand waving and hypnotism turn Wendy's skin from empathic to lethal? Better yet, how can she change it back? She has a brother to take care of; earning a little extra money was not supposed to ruin her life this way.

Refusing to live forever in fear of physical contact, Wendy goes straight to the source: the company whose strange energy practices caused her dramatic transformation. Did they mean to make her a weapon? Or was it a mistake? She quickly learns that she is not alone; uncanny supernatural abilities are real. Gabe and Kaylen, whom she befriends at the bizarre camp of super-humans, suspect that Wendy was targeted for a specific reason, and it has nothing to do with her death touch.

©2013 Colorworld Books, Inc. (P)2018 Colorworld Books, Inc.

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about Colorworld

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A beautiful story beautifully read by Cherami Leigh and Todd Haberkorn.

Colorworld is an amazing and beautiful story, written by Rachel E. Kelly. This review is for part 1 of the Colorworld series; specifically, the audiobook read by the incredibly talented Cherami Leigh and Todd Haberkorn. This review is spoiler-free, with the exception of character names and information from the synopsis.

The audiobook tells the first part of the story of Wendy, a 19-year old college student with peculiar empathic powers that allow her to sense emotions through skin contact. She is struggling to support both herself and her younger brother, Ezra, and decides to participate in an allergy study to earn more cash. However, the study does not go as expected. She wakes up to find someone dead, and learns that it was her skin that caused it. We follow Wendy as she struggles to understand what has happened to her, how to cope with living around people when merely touching them could kill, and whether or not the changes to her powers can be reversed.

The story is filled with endearing characters and wonderful, tender moments that brought a smile to my face every time. The interactions between characters are engaging, natural, and believable - Wendy and Ezra in particular feel very realistic as siblings, both in their cheeky yet loving behaviour towards each other and in their dialogue. The vivid descriptions of the world, and of people’s emotions, thoughts and senses, immerse you fully, in part due to the excellent writing on Rachel’s part, and also owing to the beautiful delivery on the part of the two readers.

The narration and voices for female characters are provided by the amazing Cherami Leigh. Cherami’s beautiful reading is powerfully delivered, full of passion and evocative of emotion. She breathes unique life into every character she voices, from Wendy herself, to the adorable teenager Kaylen, and to the mysterious Louise, among many others. She perfectly captures the struggles Wendy faces, and draws you into her enchanting world.

Similar praise can be given for the male voices, read by the wonderful Todd Haberkorn. The chemistry between the characters, particularly between Wendy, Ezra, and Gabe, feels so organic and real, and the dialogue is delivered seamlessly and naturally. Both Cherami and Todd are able to give very distinct qualities to the voices of each of their characters, so it is easy enough to recognise one from another.

The audio quality is great, very clear and clean on both the Amazon Echo Dot and an iPad (with or without headphones).

I would thoroughly recommend this audiobook to anybody. Fans of the sci-fi genre, or of romance, may enjoy it in particular. Fans of Cherami and Todd will be impressed by what I believe to be some of their best work ever (delivering such powerful, emotional and passionate dialogue believably without any visual aid at all, is a challenge many audiobook readers seem to struggle to overcome, but in this case it seems so natural). But I believe there is something in this wonderful story for all audiences. I encourage you to give it a try, and hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I have.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!!!

what a beautiful story with great characters and two wonderful performances by Todd & Cherami

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gabriel
  • Gabriel
  • 24-05-18

Incredible Voice Acting

Performance by Cherami leigh was stellar however narrative tended to drag overall strong premise and colorful characters

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 19-05-21

The Best!

I LOVE this story - I will listen many times over! Phenomenal performance! ¡Me Encanta!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rafael A
  • Rafael A
  • 30-04-21

Very good!

Great story and performance. Definitely a must for anyone interested in the experiences of deep meditation ;)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AStone
  • AStone
  • 03-03-21

Love, love, love this series!

I originally bought and read the physical copy at an Anime convention in Atlanta and absolutely loved the story. Then I saw that the audio versions were on here and couldn't wait to listen. THEN I noticed Todd Haberkorn voiced the male characters and I immediately downloaded and started listening. I was not disappointed! The voice acting Cherami and Todd do for these books really make the book feel like a movie playing in your head.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matthew
  • Matthew
  • 06-08-20

Interesting

I love the voice acting performance Cherami and Todd do wonders. They both manage to give every character a unique voice. I almost forgot it was just the 2 of them narrating. The story was interesting but a little slower than I’d like. I’d simply recommend reading this series just to listen the actors do their amazing work. I hope Cherami does more audiobook work in the future she’s a very talented voice actress. They both have worked on my favorite animated series/anime!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kiri
  • Kiri
  • 18-06-20

Great book

This book by Rachel E. Kelly is great. She does such a good job with descriptions and making you feel like you are in the world itself. It's also a very interesting concept for a story.

The voice actors, Cherami and Todd are great. Now I may be a little bias since they are two of my favorite voice actors for anime. The both do such a good job at bringing the story to life. I have listened to this book too many times I cannot count. The story never gets old.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annette Octavo
  • Annette Octavo
  • 23-05-20

I Couldn't Stop Listening!!!

I've always been a fan of both Cherami Leigh and Todd Haberkorn having been a big fan of some of the anime's they work on, so when I heard about this series, I knew I had to check it out! And I was not disappointed! The story was engaging, the performances were top-notch, and Kelly writes with such eloquence and vivid detail that this was hard to put down! Can't wait to start book two!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-04-20

Next Best Author

I 100% recommend this series! Having read the series Cherami Leigh was meant to play Wendy. :) This series has amazing dialog between the characters Wendy and Gabe.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-08-18

Perfect

I have never listened to such an interesting story. Rachel Kelly has written a great story and I look forward to the next book being released in audible. Also, Cherami and Todd were perfect as always!! They do wonderful voice work and I can’t wait to hear more of them!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fairy_Girl
  • Fairy_Girl
  • 13-03-18

Love this new world!

What did you love best about Colorworld?

Love these voice actors! Love the story! Couldn't stop listening!

What did you like best about this story?

The details while Wendy was in the Colorworld were so vivid

Which scene was your favorite?

All the Gaberial and Wendy scenes

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Enter a world that's just a touch and a thought away.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait for these two to do book two! Love this series already!