Detective Jessie Blake

1 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 12 ratings

Heartlands Summary

Call it mother’s intuition, but I knew she was dead the moment she was late home. As I listened to her phone ring and ring, that’s when I knew for sure. My little girl was gone. 

Twenty years ago, Sophie Nicoll never came home from school. Days later, her body was found in a shallow grave on a remote farm a few miles from her hometown. Two boys from her school were found guilty. The press called the boys evil. Sophie’s family wanted them dead. The judge promised they’d never walk free.

Two decades later, schoolgirl Shannon Ross has vanished from a small town in the Scottish Highlands.

It’s Detective Jessie Blake’s first big case since she joined Perthshire Police. Having recently arrived from London, Jessie lives in fear of people finding out about her past and her reasons for moving North.

When Shannon’s body is found in the river on the outskirts of Inverlochty, Jessie discovers she’s not the only one with something to hide. As the small community begins to crack under pressure, people begin to point fingers. And soon, the big secrets hidden within the small town are revealed - with devastating consequences.

This shocking crime thriller set in the dramatic Scottish Highlands will have you listening well into the night. If you like LJ Ross, Cara Hunter, or Robert Bryndza, you will absolutely love this.

©2019 Kerry Watts (P)2019 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • A Totally Gripping Crime Thriller with a Jaw-Dropping Twist (Detective Jessie Blake, Book 1)
    • By: Kerry Watts
    • Narrated by: Gillian Hay
    • Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
    • Release date: 21-03-19
    • Language: English
    • 4 out of 5 stars 12 ratings

    Regular price: £18.29