Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You can lift astonishing weights, send messages, even levitate. You've got a girlfriend who shares some of your talents. Everything is wonderful, right?

Well, not exactly....

Fans of Robert A. Heinlein, Terry Pratchett, and Raymond E. Feist will love this series!

"...a refreshing and enjoyable read about believable characters" - C. A. Whiteman

"...must read for people who like interesting characters and novel situations" - Bridsworld

"...always wondering where the story is going next.... Lots of new ideas in this series and a great read!" - Stanford Bernheim

"...enjoyed the personal relationships in the story as well as the main plot line" - Ronald Q. Smith

©2014, 2017 Jack L. Knapp (P)2017 Jack L. Knapp

What listeners say about Wizard at Work

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

I like this audio book its my first by Jack l Knapp I have 5 out 6 by Matthew e berry 5 out of 5

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lot better than the first book

I enjoyed this second book a lot more than the first.
This felt a more solidly structured book which flowed better than the first book. It was more interesting in what the main character were doing.
The narrator was a lot better on this one. Not sure if he had improved over time (not sure how much time between the two books was) or it was because the focus was more on a character which the narrator voiced in a more pleasing way.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gilbert M. Stack
  • Gilbert M. Stack
  • 12-02-21

How Do You Support Yourself with Secret ESP Powers

Now that the immediate threat of T’s old teachers trying to kill him is done, Knapp spends a novel figuring out how a couple of people with psychic powers can earning a living without the world finding out about their abilities. Over all, it’s a good novel. My favorite “job” was treasure hunting and I’d like to know if the legends that lead them to treasures are actual legends. The challenges of turning finds of gold coins into cash people can spend without drawing the attention of the government fascinated me. (This was necessary in a large part because of T’s obsession with not paying taxes as a sort of payback for the way the government has treated him.) Add in the troubles with earthquakes and this was a good addition to the series. I’ll be interested to see what Knapp does next.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RJ
  • RJ
  • 21-03-20

Unintended consequences!

Our psychic duo is studying earthquakes and volcanos this time around. “T” and Ray are making the most of their PSI abilities. They’ve started a small business and continue to help people while earning a unique living. “T” has feelings for Anna Maria and wants a relationship but isn’t sure if Anna Maria feels the same. Join the club, my man, figuring out what’s on a woman’s mind is a lifelong quest. On another psychic note, the precognition talent leads to treasure hunting! Being able to look at a map or walk the grounds and get “a feeling” that something is there might uncover The Lost Treasure of Emperor Maximilian. The plot thickens and the duo is getting a little nervous. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 26-02-20

Good 2nd Book

Narration is really good. Story is well developed with good characters. Good series.

“I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.”

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Milica
  • Milica
  • 18-09-19

Interesting and unique sequel

The powerful wizards are getting more and more powerful. This book shows how the characters develop and how they try to use their power for good.

A unique sequel to Combat Wizard. The story has good attention to detail and keeps you wanting to hear more. It shows how the powers of the Wizards grow and their relationships.

Matt narrated very well. I love how the audio changes during the narration versus when the characters are communicating telepathically, very cool!

Overall, the book was interesting albeit less action packed than the first. I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys paranormal thrillers. I look forward to hearing the third!

Note: This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this objective review voluntarily.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for vanita Thornton
  • vanita Thornton
  • 25-07-19

this book was given to me at my request for review

love this book. have always been intrigued with ESP and the like. Hopefully this isn't the Las book in the series.