Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Uncontrollable

  • A LitRPG Adventure
  • By: Sean Oswald
  • Narrated by: Daniel Wisniewski
  • Length: 15 hrs and 23 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (249 ratings)

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Uncontrollable cover art

Uncontrollable

By: Sean Oswald
Narrated by: Daniel Wisniewski
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £26.99

Buy Now for £26.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Frostburn cover art
Defiance of the Fall cover art
The Primal Hunter cover art
Induction cover art
We Hunt Monsters cover art
Law of Strength cover art
Claws Out: A LitRPG Native World Adventure cover art
Gladiator cover art
Mother of Learning Arc 1 cover art
Life in Exile Books 1-3 cover art
The Legend of Randidly Ghosthound cover art
Dissonance cover art
Something cover art
He Who Fights with Monsters: A LitRPG Adventure cover art
Jake's Magical Market cover art
Human Insanity cover art

Summary

Whether it be the hero of legends or the character in a game, few things are more defining than Class.

Except maybe Class isn't always static. Tank, DPS, healer, and more. They are all just different sides of fate's die.

Taken from life as an office drone by a trickster god, Tim finds himself in the magical world of Iocusinte, where change is his only constant. It grants him great potential, enough to be sought out by different factions looking to use him for their own ends.

That potential, however, is mercurial. His Class and very appearance shift at random.

If Tim is to survive long enough to enjoy this new world and the friends he's making, then he'll have to solve the riddle of his nature and learn to master the uncontrollable.

Experience the next LitRPG saga from Amazon Bestseller Sean Oswald. It’s perfect for fans of Dakota Krout, Luke Chmilenko, and Troy Osgood.

©2021 Sean Oswald (P)2021 Sean Oswald

What listeners say about Uncontrollable

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

A nice change to the standard levelling up, definitely doesn’t get boring! I also enjoyed the narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

mediocre and not super well put together

Im about half way though and so far the concept is alright, but ultimately its just the mc rolling a bunch of dice and getting the best option possible at the cost of it being very confusing at the start. my main gripe with this book is that characters seem to only ever figure out what the plot needs them to figure out. many things are blatantly obvious for anyone with a brain but the plot needs everyone to be clueless about a thing so they are clueless, especially the mc. for example the mc spends most of the first half of the book not being sure about how any part of his abilities work despite being a super nerd shut in min/max gamer like you'd expect, that being the case he should have realised that Trickster god + game system that seems to revolve around dice roles + and changing appearances seemingly at random must = your goanna randomly switch race and class a bunch. but he acts completely shocked for the first few times this happens like 'what?? you mean that this isn't the last time I'm going to switch forms? no way!' a real nerd min/maxer would probably figure this out and look to use the stupid amount of gold he gets for free to acquire everything he could possibly need to handle all the changes and look up info on all the different classes he could get, but instead he treats every transformation like that's what he will be for a long time and only gets gear for the class he happens to be at the time. its odd.

other than that the book lacks depth, most of the thought seems to have gone into world building but this author's only understanding of how to impart that world building is to have the personality less mc just spam questions at everyone in sight like half this stuff isnt fairly obvious. to that point, the mc is pretty bland, his only real defining trait is that he's a lonely hard core gamer, but as I mentioned earlier he's really to much of an idiot to actually line up with that. the side characters are alright, but they too suffer from knowing what the plot needs them to and nothing else. they often seem to be all knowing and wise but then seem incapable of putting a few pieces of information together like they have been doing all the way until that moment.

tl;dr: glad it was free. the VA is good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Top class storytelling

This was a very entertaining book, great characters and a fantastic storyline. The game mechanics and the mc having to change his class several times worked really well. Lots of plot lines that look to be leading to bigger things. Of course Daniel Wisniewski does a fantastic narration, never in doubt.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

interesting Idea

I went into this book with interest, a litrpg where the character can't control his class? That's new! He keeps changing? That's new too. He has no personality?....wait that's bad.

it is unfortunately an opinion I picked up quite quickly. The main character has all the personality of a half brick, sure you throw it at something and it will do some damage but you don't really care what happens to the half brick afterwards. I found myself unable to muster any interest in what happens to him next, all his dialog is either "I don't know what's happening" or the kind of talk you get from egotistical 10 year olds who play too many online games.

The story was mildly interesting but kept too vague. I didn't know if this was a computer game, different world, dimension or anything else and again it was kind of hard to care without details.

Still, I finished the book so that should say something. a lot of the membership included books I don't bother finishing.

My final criticism isn't of the story but the narrator, he was good enough with the voices but I had to listen to the story at 110% speed and it still seemed like he was talking in slow motion.

overall, worth a listen but don't expect anything ground breaking.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book

This was a very pleasant surprise and a fantastic experience. I loved the pace the story and the MC. Am looking forward to the other books.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How is this series free?

I dont know how this series is free, but thanks the LITRPG gods. This series is up there with HWFM and the rest. I heard the first book in 3 days, Second book is just as good so 2 hours in.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Made long drives fly by, loved it

Downloaded originally as a bit of background noise but grabbed my interest easily which a big ask, great storyline, detailed characters and really looking forward to the next in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book !!!

I throughly enjoyed this book and honestly am itching for the next installment was wonderful written and the voice actor was perfect for this type of story 10 out 0f 10

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well paced with strong characters

Strong lead with good supporting characters. Expected to see closer relationships forming - looking forward to seeing how the story and relationships progress in the next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Is this read in by AI?

Sound like any word at the end of a sentence need mega drama. Could be bucket or toenail; behold a buckheeet!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!